Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


11 / 30 books. 37% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (3)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (8)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (2)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


23 / 51 states. 45% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 50 books. 32% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


21 / 50 books. 42% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


43 / 50 books. 86% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 40 books. 63% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 25 books. 36% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


6 / 26.2 miles (second lap). 23% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


22 / 100 books. 22% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


58 / 104 books. 56% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


60 / 165 books. 36% done!
Thursday, November 17, 2011

Creepy Cryer's Cross An Entertaining Spine-Tingler

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

When a high school freshman from Cryer's Cross, Montana, disappears, it rocks the tiny town to its core. Despite days of searching the area, no one can find a trace of the missing girl. It could be she just ran away, but, to 17-year-old Kendall Fletcher, the whole thing feels sinister. Kendall knows she won't rest easy until she finds out what happened to her classmate - not because she was particularly close to the girl, more because her OCD makes coping with ambiguity difficult. To say the least.

The town's still reeling from the first disappearance when another local teen vanishes. This time, it's someone much closer to Kendall's heart. This time, she knows it's foul play, because 17-year-old Nico Cruz - her boyfriend - would never leave without telling Kendall. Even with the rumor mill suggesting Nico ran off with the missing girl, Kendall's resolute: Something terrible happened to Nico. It's only when Kendall realizes the two missing teens both used the same school desk that she starts to connect some dots. When she notices messages scratched into the desk's wooden surface, messages that plead for help, she knows she's found a vital clue in the mystery of the lost kids. It's when she starts hearing their voices seeping out of the desk, though, that she begins wondering if she's completely crazy. Because if she isn't, then she's dealing with something old, something evil, something not of this world. It's all tied to a dark Cryer's Cross secret - one that no one wants to acknowledge, let alone let out. The closer Kendall comes to figuring it out, the closer she comes to becoming the next victim ...

Cryer's Cross by Lisa McMann is a creepy little tale, with some original touches that make it memorable (I don't know about you, but I've never read a story about a haunted desk before). It moves quickly, keeping the reader interested, if not surprised. Kendall's a sympathetic character, whose OCD makes her unique, while giving her personality added depth. Predictability and a rather anticlimatic ending did sour this one a little for me - overall, though, I found the book entertaining, albeit in a Halloween-ish, nightmare-inducing sort of way. Which is why I read it during the day. With the lights on. While hiding under my bed. Ahem. You know you're a wimp when ...

(Readalikes: Um, I should be able to think of lots, but nothing's really coming to mind. Ideas?)

Grade: B-

If this were a movie, it would be rated: R for language (a few F-bombs plus milder invectives) and violence

To the FTC, with love: Another library fine find

1 comment:

  1. I need a new creepy read... this is on my TBR now!

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive