Tuesday, October 25, 2011

Don't Believe in Fairy Tales? You Might After Reading This.

(Image from Deseret Book)

I've heard people describe President Dieter F. Uchtdorf (of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints) as elegant, poised, and witty. Also, hot. I'm not going anywhere near that last one - I don't want to risk my eternal salvation by commenting on an apostle's looks, good or otherwise - but I most definitely agree with the first three adjectives. Yet, what's always struck me most about the Czechoslavkian/German General Authority is the kindness and love that just radiate from his being. I feel it every time I see his face or hear him speak. Reading his newest book, Your Happily Ever After, evoked that same sense of warmth and affection. Every word of his message, which is directed at young women, is imbued with the love he obviously feels for them.

Using examples from popular fairy tales, President Uchtdorf reminds us that no one reaches "happily ever after" without experiencing some struggles. Just like Cinderella endured abuse from her stepmother/sisters, just like Belle faced a ferocious beast, just like the miller's daughter fought the cruel Rumpelstiltskin, we will all encounter challenges on our paths to eternal bliss. But, promises President Uchtdorf, problems can be overcome and happiness attained if we follow God's plan for us. By remaining true to what we know is right, we'll gain the most happily of ever afters.

This small, beautifully-illustrated volume will be treasured for its simple, but hopeful message. Although it's meant for young LDS women, its truths apply to everyone. The book's short enough to be read often and would make a lovely gift, especially for a girl who's entering Young Women's or one who just needs a little pick-me-up. Even if you don't believe in fairy tales, Your Happily Ever After will give you an uplifting new perspective, one that employs the kind, thoughtful outlook so many associate with the elegant, poised, witty - and possibly even hot - President Uchtdorf.

(Readalikes: Apparently I don't read enough inspirational non-fiction. Help me out here!)

Grade: B
If this were a movie, it would be rated: G

To the FTC, with love: I received a finished copy of Your Happily Ever After from the generous folks at Deseret Book. Thank you!

4 comments:

  1. I love Dieter F. Uchtdorf. He tells great stories. I'm kind of hoping he'll be the prophet someday, but of course that's not up to me ;). This book looks beautiful. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I don't know anything about the author...but I will say that the book is gorgeous!!!!

    ♥ Melissa @ Melissa's Eclectic Bookshelf

    ReplyDelete
  3. This one looks fun. I won't comment on his looks either. ;)

    ReplyDelete
  4. You are too funny!! I will definitely look at him differently in the future. It puts a new twist on General Conference viewing ;)

    You are such a busy-reading-beaver. I am falling woefully behind. Just wish my woeful behind was falling off...

    Happy Fall...

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin