Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


10 / 30 books. 33% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (3)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (8)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (2)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


23 / 51 states. 45% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 50 books. 32% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


21 / 50 books. 42% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


42 / 50 books. 84% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 40 books. 63% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 25 books. 36% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


33.2 / 26.2 miles. 127% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


21 / 100 books. 21% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


56 / 104 books. 54% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


57 / 165 books. 35% done!
Friday, September 23, 2011

Ignore the Cover Art - Everything I Was Warm, Funny and Hopeful

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Despite its rather ominous cover, Everthing I Was by Corinne Demas, is actually a very sweet story. It begins on the day 13-year-old Irene moves out of her posh Upper West Side apartment. With her father out of work, her family can no longer afford the exorbiant rent, even though they've auctioned off valuable art, let the housekeeper go, and sold her father's Jag. Unless a job suddenly becomes available, her private school tuition won't be paid, and Irene won't be able to return except as a scholarship student - a fate too embarrassing to contemplate. In the meantime, the family's moving to the country to live with Irene's paternal grandfather, who lives on a rural farm. Irene's leaving her whole life behind, with nothing to look forward to ahead of her.
Irene's high-maintenance mother can't stand life in the boondocks, while Irene and her father find that it suits them quite well. Part of Irene's enthusiasm comes from discovering the Fox family. With a down-to-Earth mother (so different from Irene's own), a kind, if absentminded father and five active children, the Foxes' big, rundown mansion is as alluring as a circus. Resembles one, too. The more Irene gets to know the large, loving family, the more she sees the dysfunction in her own. Still, she's happy. Especially when 15-year-old Jim Fox comes around.
When an opportunity comes up in the city, Irene doesn't know what to think: City or country? Old life or new? As she deals with this newest life reversal, she must come to terms with her family, her friends, but, most of all, herself.
The cover of this one really threw me; the darkness of it still bothers me. Not that the story's all flowers and bubbles. It's not, but it's definitely lighter than the cover indicates. That little issue aside, though, I enjoyed Everything I Was. It's a quick read, full of warmth, humor and hope. It's a timely story and one I think young readers will find relatable in this time of economic upheavel. Even if they've never been uprooted, they'll sympathize with Irene, fall for the laidback Jim, and enjoy this gentle ride out into the countryside.
(Readalikes: The Foxes reminded me of the Penderwicks in the series by Jeanne Birdsall, although the books really aren't similar at all.)
Grade: B
If this were a movie, it would be rated: PG-13? - This is the first time I've ever encountered this situation, so I'm not sure exactly how to rate Everything I Was. Irene says the F-word twice, which should automatically make the book an R. However, there's nothing else in the book that's offensive. A little kissing, but that's it. Weird, right? If it weren't for those two F-bombs, the book would be PG. So, what do I give it? PG-13? R? I'm going to stick with the former for now.
To the FTC, with love: I received a finished copy of Everything I Was from the generous folks at Carol Rhoda LAB. Thank you!

2 comments:

  1. I'm intrigued. I think I'll go see if my library has it. They probably don't.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive