Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:


2022 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska (1)
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (5)
- Colorado (3)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (2)
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (2)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa (1)
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (2)
- Massachusetts (5)
- Michigan (2)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi (1)
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico (1)
- New York (9)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon (1)
- Pennsylvania (2)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah (2)
- Vermont (3)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (4)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming (1)
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:

Antarctica (1)
Australia (2)
Egypt (2)
England (15)
France (1)
Greece (1)
Ireland (2)
Italy (1)
Malaysia (1)
Nepal (1)
Poland (1)
Portugal (1)
Romania (1)
Scotland (3)
Sweden (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


36 / 51 states. 71% done!

2022 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 50 books. 38% done!

2022 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


20 / 25 books. 80% done!

2022 Cloak and Dagger Reading Challenge

My Progress:


65 / 53 books. 123% done!

Booklist Queen's 2022 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


43 / 52 books. 83% done!

Aussie Author Reading Challenge 2022


1 / 24 books. 4% done!

2022 Nonfiction Reader Challenge


3 / 20 books. 15% done!

2022 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge

My Progress:


36 / 50 books. 72% done!

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!

2022 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 40 books. 95% done!

2022 Support Book Bloggers Challenge

2022 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Thursday, March 10, 2022

Newest St. James Supernatural Thriller An Engrossing Read

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Forty years ago, two murders rocked the small town of Claire Lake, Oregon. Similarities between the double killings proved the same person was responsibile for both. Although she was later acquitted, 23-year-old Beth Greer was accused of the crimes. Wealthy and eccentric, she was convicted in the court of public opinion, prompting her to retreat from society. Still haunted by the whole experience, Beth is finally ready to talk about the murders, which have never been solved.

Shea Collins is shocked when the infamous Beth Greer, who has stayed out of the spotlight for four decades, agrees to be interviewed for her true crime podcast. As she makes regular visits to the elderly woman in her home, Shea becomes mesmerized by Beth and freaked out by the strange things that happen in her house. Suspecting the place is just as haunted as its owner, she finds that—despite her reservations—she can't stay away. The more she learns, however, the more unsettled Shea becomes. Is she being lured in by a clever, manipulative murderer? Or is something even more sinister going on here?

I can always count on Simone St. James to spin me a shivery, suspenseful yarn. Her newest, The Book of Cold Cases (available March 15) is certainly that. It's atmsopheric, it's creepy, and it's engrossing. The characters are likable; I definitely cared about what was going to happen to them. Although this novel kept me turning pages, it's true I was a tad underwhelmed by it. I kept waiting for a big twist or at least some wild plot turns to shock and surprise me and that didn't really ever happen. In spite of this, I still enjoyed The Book of Cold Cases. I just wanted more from it.

(Readalikes: Reminds me of other Gothic/supernatural thrillers by Simone St. James as well as those by Carol Goodman, Riley Sager, and Emily Carpenter)

Grade:

If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language, violence, and blood/gore

To the FTC, with love: I received an e-ARC of The Book of Cold Cases from the generous folks at Penguin via those at NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!

13 comments:

  1. This sounds really creepy and intriguing and fun. I'm going to put this on my TBR. Thanks for your review.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I do really like St. James's novels. I'm looking forward to reading this one. :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Terrific review, Susan. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

    ReplyDelete
  4. This does sounds good and this is an author I've been wanting to read. Thanks for the heads up! I will keep my expectations a bit lowered.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Expectations really can affect my impression of a book.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I haven't read anything by Simone St. James, but this sounds thrilling. Nice review!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I'm 1st on the list for this one at my library. Next week, right? So looking forward to it. I've enjoyed several of this author's books. Thanks for the review!!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I almost thought it was out already, I like Simone St. James's work and I'm looking forward to this one. Your review is promising!
    ~Lex (lexlingua.co)

    ReplyDelete
  9. I haven't ever read a book by this author, but this one sounds good. I am all about true crime podcasts

    ReplyDelete
  10. I haven't read this author but I've had it on my "wish to read list" for a while now. I do enjoy true crime cold cases discussed on podcasts once in a blue moon. I'm drawn by the puzzle the detectives have to solve, not any description of a crime. Glad you liked this one!

    ReplyDelete
  11. This definitely sounds like something I'd enjoy! I had not hears of this author but I'm adding this book to my TBR :)

    ReplyDelete
  12. I've seen so many people talking about this book! I'm glad you enjoyed it even if you were a bit underwhelmed. Great review.

    ReplyDelete
  13. That is disappointing! Thanks for the excellent review, i love that you give ratings (like "r") as well!

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Farm to Trouble by Amanda Flower

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Lost and Found Bookshop by Susan Wiggs



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive