Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


6 / 25 books. 24% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Thursday, September 23, 2021

Psychological Thriller Oddly Compelling and Weirdly Memorable

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

The Wrong Family by Tarryn Fisher is one of those books where the less you know going into it, the better.  So, I'm going to give you the publisher's plot summary instead of my own because not only is it spoiler-free, but it's also brilliantly written.  Here you go:

From the author of the instant New York Times bestseller The Wives comes another twisted psychological thriller guaranteed to turn your world upside down.

Have you ever been wrong about someone?

Juno was wrong about Winnie Crouch.

Before moving in with the Crouch family, Juno thought Winnie and her husband, Nigel, had the perfect marriage, the perfect son—the perfect life. Only now that she’s living in their beautiful house, she sees the cracks in the crumbling facade are too deep to ignore.

Still, she isn’t one to judge. After her grim diagnosis, the retired therapist simply wants a place to live out the rest of her days in peace. But that peace is shattered the day Juno overhears a chilling conversation between Winnie and Nigel…

She shouldn’t get involved.

She really shouldn’t.

But this could be her chance to make a few things right.

Because if you thought Juno didn’t have a secret of her own, then you were wrong about her, too.

From the wickedly dark mind of bestselling author Tarryn Fisher, The Wrong Family is a taut new thriller that’s riddled with twists in all the right places.

Intriguing, yes?  

I picked this book up because the premise is just so unique and chilling.  The setup is definitely the best part of The Wrong Family because the characters are all messed-up and unlikable, the mystery isn't much of one, and the plot gets a bit...wild.  Still, the story kept me turning pages, even though I repeatedly asked myself, "WHY am I still reading this?" On the whole, the book is depressing and somewhat dissatisfying, although, honestly, the characters all get what they deserve.  Even though I really did not love this one, I still find myself thinking about The Wrong Family, although it's been months since I read it.  In fact, when my hairdresser asked me the other day if I'd read anything interesting lately, this is the book that immediately popped into my head.  It's not just oddly compelling, it's also weirdly memorable.  Is it crazy that a book I didn't even like all that much is so stuck in my head?  I give it points for that at least.  

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't really think of anything.  You?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language, violence, blood/gore, references to illegal drug use, and disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

6 comments:

  1. Wow, this does sound unusual.

    ReplyDelete
  2. This one has a nice hook, and I'm definitely hooked, and it seems to be pretty well written if you kept coming back to it despite your reluctance. That's just about enough to make me look for it.

    ReplyDelete
  3. It does deserve points for being so memorable!

    ReplyDelete
  4. It's so interesting when we don't really like a book all that much, but we keep thinking about it. In that respect, it does what we want literature to do!

    ReplyDelete
  5. These kind of books are always so confusing! I've been reading in my comfort zone lately and so haven't come across this in awhile but I've had a few like this!

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive