Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


12 / 30 books. 40% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (2)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (10)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (4)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


22 / 50 books. 44% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


23 / 50 books. 46% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


48 / 50 books. 96% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


40 / 52 books. 77% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


26 / 40 books. 65% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


10 / 25 books. 40% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


12 / 26.2 miles. 46% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


25 / 100 books. 25% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


64 / 104 books. 62% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


43 / 52 books. 83% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


69 / 165 books. 42% done!
Monday, September 14, 2020

Middle Grade Debut Heartfelt and Hopeful


(Image from Barnes & Noble)

For generations, folks in the small farming community of Maryville, North Carolina, have relied on the Bee Lady's sweet honey to heal their hurts.  The golden nectar is said to be infused with a special magic.  If there's anything 12-year-old Della Kelly needs right now it's some good juju.  Not only is her father's watermelon crop in trouble, but Della's mother is displaying the same disturbing behavior that landed her in a mental hospital once before.  As the family's financial situation deteriorates and her mom's condition worsens, the care of her baby sister falls into Della's hands.  Overwhelmed and terrified, Della knows she has to find a permanent solution to her problems.  If magic honey can't do the trick, what can?  

Where the Watermelons GrowCindy Baldwin's debut, is an atmospheric, heartfelt novel about family, mental illness, and the pain and confusion that often goes along with growing up.  Della is a sympathetic, authentic heroine—it's easy to root for her success.  My favorite aspect of the novel was the idea of the magic honey.  While I understand that Della had to learn a lesson about tackling tough problems with real solutions, I still wanted more of the magical element.  Overall, though, I enjoyed this poignant, hopeful story.  
(Readalikes:  Reminds me a little of Rules by Cynthia Lord)

Grade:

If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for subject matter (erratic/dangerous behavior of a parent due to mental illness) that might be disturbing for readers under 12

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

4 comments:

  1. This sounds very touching, and I like the idea of the magic solution too.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm so glad this was well done as I can imagine so many kids could identify with this in some way or another. It is too bad that it doesn't have more of a magical element though.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I love how the author seems to balance the starkness of the family troubles with a bit of whimsy!

    ReplyDelete
  4. This sounds like it has a sweet premise, but I'd have trouble with the magic honey. :-)

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive