Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


10 / 30 books. 33% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (3)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (8)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (2)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


23 / 51 states. 45% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 50 books. 32% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


21 / 50 books. 42% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


42 / 50 books. 84% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 40 books. 63% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 25 books. 36% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


33.2 / 26.2 miles. 127% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


21 / 100 books. 21% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


56 / 104 books. 54% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


57 / 165 books. 35% done!
Saturday, December 19, 2020

Newbery Award-Winning Mystery an Enjoyable Classic

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

An eclectic group of apartment dwellers are brought together for the reading of the will of Samuel Westing, a 65-year-old millionaire who went missing thirteen years ago.  All of them are eager to get their hands on a piece of his fortune, even if they're not sure exactly why the wealthy eccentric would leave it to them.  They're shocked when they hear the terms of the will—whoever solves the elaborate puzzle Samuel left behind first gets the cash.  The participants are paired off and given clues to follow.  What ensues is a competitive race to be the first to find the million-dollar answer and win the game.  Of course, there's more to the contest than meets the eye.  Samuel Westing may be deceased, but he's still got some tricks up his sleeve!

I've always loved mysteries and The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin is one I remember enjoying as a child.  Published in 1978, the novel is clever and fun with likable characters and an engaging story.  While I figured out what the word clues meant right away, there were a few plot surprises I didn't see coming.  Overall, this is just a light, entertaining read that I enjoyed as much as an adult as I did as a child.

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes and a little of the Mr. Lemoncello's Library books by Chris Grabenstein)

Grade:  


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for violence and scary situations

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

2 comments:

  1. The Westing Game is one of my all-time favorite MG novels! So clever and fun. Glad to know we have the same taste on this one! :-)

    ReplyDelete
  2. This was one of my absolute favorite books as a kid and one that my daughter loved just as much as I did which is always great. I think it's probably her most read book. I reread it not that long ago and was pleased to find that it held up rather well.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive