Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


10 / 30 books. 33% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (2)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (1)
- Utah
- Vermont (1)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (1)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (7)
- France (1)
- Ireland (1)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


18 / 51 states. 35% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


13 / 50 books. 26% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


20 / 50 books. 40% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 50 books. 76% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 52 books. 63% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


23 / 40 books. 57% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


5 / 25 books. 20% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


24 / 26.2 miles. 92% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


19 / 100 books. 19% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


49 / 104 books. 47% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


39 / 52 books. 75% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


44 / 165 books. 27% done!
Tuesday, December 08, 2020

Deadwood Murder Mystery a Fast, Exciting Read

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Siblings Brigid and Seamus Reardon emigrate from Ireland in 1877 because it's easier for their parents' landlord to pay for the teens' passage to America than to continue feeding them.  Eager to seek better lives in the land of opportunity, Brigid finds work in Minnesota as a domestic servant while Seamus heads west in search of gold.  A few years later, Brigid receives word that her mother has died.  Grief-stricken and tired of dodging the wandering hands of her employer's lascivious son, she decides to reunite with Seamus in South Dakota.  

Brigid is shocked by what she finds in Deadwood, a bustling city that's dirty, violent, and lawless.  She's only just arrived when a popular prostitute is stabbed to death in the street.  Seamus, who claims to have loved the woman truly, becomes an immediate suspect.  Knowing her brother could not have done such a shameless deed, Brigid urges him to leave town while she tries to figure out who killed Lily.  Her amateur investigation does not go unnoticed and soon she finds herself caught in the glare of a cold-blooded murderer.  Can Brigid bring Lily's killer to justice?  Or will hers be the next body bleeding out on the mean streets of Deadwood? 

The Streel by Mary Logue is a fast-paced mystery that's compelling even though it's not super twisty.  The setting is atmospheric, the characters sympathetic, and the plot exciting.  I liked Brigid, who is hardworking, upright, compassionate, and brave.  It's easy to root for her as she works to prove her brother's innocence.  The Streel is barely over 200 pages, so it's a fast read and one that easily kept my attention.  I enjoyed it.

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything.  You?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for brief, mild language (no F-bombs), violence, innuendo, and references to opium use, prostitution, etc.

To the FTC, with love:  I bought a copy of The Streel with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.

3 comments:

  1. The Irish immigrant angle reminds me of Murphy's Law by Rhys Bowen. It's set about the same era, and it's a historical mystery series.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Oh this sounds interesting and I love the setting! I haven't come across this one but I'm adding it to my TBR.

    ReplyDelete
  3. A mystery with a strong female figuring out who did it? Sounds good to me.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Swimming in a Sea of Stars by Julie Wright

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Tobacco Wives by Adele Myer



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive