Saturday, August 22, 2020

I Like Cupcakes As Much As The Next Girl, But ...

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

It's long been Melanie Cooper's dream to open her own cupcake bakery.  Now that Fairy Tale Cupcakes is finally in operation, she and Angie DeLaura—her BFF/business partner—are over the moon, even if their first big order is coming from a snobby, control freak of a bridezilla.  Unfortunately, the woman is marrying their other best friend, so they have to make nice.  Even if it kills them.  Or her.

When 32-year-old Christie Stevens drops dead after a cupcake tasting, Melanie is stunned.  She's even more shocked when she's named the prime suspect in the bride-to-be's poisoning.  It's no secret Melanie didn't like Christie, but she certainly didn't kill her.  Who did?  Almost everyone who knew the dead fashion designer hated her, so suspects abound.  To clear her own name and save the reputation of her new business, Melanie is going to have to channel her inner Nancy Drew.  Can she find the killer before he/she cooks up another murder? 

I don't expect cozy mysteries to be realistic, so I'm rarely put off by their far-fetched plots.  Good thing because Sprinkle with Murder, the first book in the Cupcake Bakery Mystery series by Jenn McKinlay, is not exactly believable.  Still, it tells a light, fun story that makes for a quick, diverting read.  The cupcakes in this novel are more developed than the characters, however, which is annoying.  Other than some colorful folks on the side, the cast of this mystery is almost wholly lacking in personality.  Although Melanie and Angie come off as nice, they both manage to act immature and petty, which makes them less likable.  As heroines, they need something to make them unique or original.  In fact, that's a problem with this book in general.  It doesn't have anything that helps it stand out among its peers.  All these things considered, I probably won't continue with the series.  I like cupcakes as much as the next girl, but this opener doesn't offer enough goodies to entice me to walk back inside Fairy Tale Cupcakes.  Bummer.

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of other culinary cozies like the All-Day Breakfast Cafe series by Lena Gregory, the Hannah Swensen series by Joanne Fluke, the Bakeshop Mystery series by Ellie Alexander, etc.)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for brief, mild language (no F-bombs) and violence

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

6 comments:

  1. What a pity this didn't work for you.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Lack of character development is always a problem for me. And a cozy mystery has to be REALLY good for me to keep reading on in the series.

    ReplyDelete
  3. "Culinary cozies" (did you coin that phrase?) are the last thing I need right now while I'm working to drop a few of my recently acquired covid-pounds. Especially those about baking. LOL

    ReplyDelete
  4. It might take me a while before I'm able to eat a cupcake again hahaha. Seriously though, there's nothing wrong with taking a break from reality. I read a James Patterson book as a recent escape. It wasn't the most believable, but it was exactly the kind of read I needed.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Sounds like this one is maybe just a bit too much. And now I want something sweet to eat. :-)

    ReplyDelete
  6. I am reading so many different cozy series, that I passed on this one and I am kind of glad I did now. Nice review Susan.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin