Saturday, July 18, 2020

My First Sager Thriller Won't Be My Last

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

After being let go at work and being let down in a relationship she thought was really going somewhere, Jules Larsen is at loose ends.  With no family to turn to and few friends, the 25-year-old could use a break.  That's just what she gets when she answers a Help Wanted ad for an apartment sitter.  Suddenly, she finds herself living in a luxurious suite at one of Manhattan's most exclusive addresses.  Other than some light housekeeping, Jules barely has to lift a finger to earn her $4000 a month paycheck.  It feels like she's won the lottery.  Sure, the job comes with some strange rules—no one is allowed to visit the apartment, Jules can't mention her new home on social media, and she's forbidden from speaking to any of the building's residents—but it's a small price to pay for such a large amount of money.

It's not long before Jules starts to realize something's not quite right at the Bartholomew.  Not only does she hear strange sounds in the night, but the one person she's befriended in the building—another apartment sitter—has vanished without a trace.  As Jules starts digging into the disappearance, she begins to uncover the Bartholomew's many secrets.  And that's when things go from strange to downright sinister ...

I don't want to say too much about Lock Every Door by Riley Sager for fear of spoiling the story.  It's a twisty tale, one that went in a totally unexpected direction for me.  The setting is atmospheric and creepy, the plot is propulsive and engrossing, and the characters are complex and interesting.  When it comes to unputdownable thrillers, Sager is a well-loved star.  Now I know why.  This definitely won't be the last time I read him.

(Readalikes:  Um, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language, violence, blood/gore, and disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

15 comments:

  1. How fun to find a new author to enjoy!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Feels like I'm the last one on the planet to read Sager ...

      Delete
  2. I really liked this one, too. Wasn't Jules a great character? And those twists! What a fun read. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. YES! This one definitely took a turn I didn't see coming AT ALL. Funny enough, I just read another thriller that has kind of a similar twist ...

      Delete
  3. Ah yes...I enjoyed this one too. I can definitely recommend that Sager books that I've read. Other than this book, I've read FINAL GIRLS and THE LAST TIME I LIED. I have his new one, HOME BEFORE DARK, waiting.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. So, I actually read this book back in June (I'm ALWAYS behind on writing reviews) and I've since read THE LAST TIME I LIED. I liked it, too, but not as much as LOCK EVERY DOOR. That's all I've read by Sager so far, but I'm definitely going to read more! It seems like his books are universally liked by thriller readers.

      Delete
  4. I thought this was a really good book as well. It is different from many thrillers and I liked the unusual premise of the creepy people in the creepy building.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me, too. Creepy building + creepy people = a premise I can't ignore!

      Delete
  5. Everything I've read by him has been outstanding. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That seems to be the general consensus, which makes me happy because I definitely plan on reading all his other books!

      Delete
  6. The comments seem to be unanimously positive about this one and Riley Sager, in general. That's a new name for me...have to see what the library has.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. He's pretty popular right now. He's written other books under his real name, but those with the Riley Sager pen name seem to be the most lauded. I'll be interested to see what you think of him.

      Delete
  7. I have a coworker who raves about Riley Sager’s books! We work in a library so I chuckled at your library fine/find joke. It’s been a fine-free free-for-all at all the libraries in our network since mid-March. A silver lining for people who tend to be late returning books! (Of course, libraries were closed for much of that time, too.)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. My library has actually been fine-free for about a year now, but before that I racked up some big ones! Just my way of (unintentionally) supporting my library. Ha ha.

      Delete
  8. I haven't read any Riley Sagar books yet, but this one is on my TBR. Great review Susan.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin