Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (3)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (5)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


27 / 51 states. 53% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


6 / 25 books. 24% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


32 / 50 books. 64% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!
Monday, December 30, 2019

Psychological Thriller a Surprising, Compulsively Readable Ride

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

The Dead Girl in 2A by Carter Wilson is one of those psychological thrillers where the less you know going into it, the better.  So, I'm going to give you the most succinct plot summary I can (which is not my forte as you well know).  Here goes:

A freelance writer, Jake Buchannan is flying to Denver to meet with a mysterious client who wants Jake to pen his memoir.  When a woman settles into the first-class seat next to him, he gets a shock.  He's positive he knows her.  Clara Stowe feels the same way about Jake, but the two can find no obvious connections between the two of them.  As they get to know each other over the course of the flight, Clara finally admits her real purpose in traveling to Colorado—she's planning to kill herself.  Shocked, Jake knows he has to help her.  When Clara disappears upon landing, Jake doesn't know what to do.  He can't let Clara—someone with whom he feels such a close, inexplicable bond—go through with her plans, but how is he going to stop her?  And who is she, really?

Yep, that's all I'm going to give you.  It's better this way, I promise!  All I can say is that this novel went in a direction that was entirely different than what I expected.  In a good way, but it threw me a little.  From that simple, but fascinating premise Wilson creates a wild, intriguing thrill ride that kept me on edge and guessing throughout.  I ended up very much enjoying this compulsively readable psychological thriller.  

(Readalikes:  Hm, I'm not sure what to compare it to—ideas?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language, violence, blood/gore, and disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

3 comments:

  1. You've got me intrigued! :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I've read a lot about this book over the last few months. Very positive reviews all the way

    ReplyDelete
  3. Reminds me a bit of Layover by David Bell. I’ve added this to my list!

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Indifferent Stars Above by Daniel James Brown

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
A Great Reckoning by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive