Saturday, December 28, 2019

Island a Strange Little Book That I Just Don't Get. At All.

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

When 17-year-old Konrad "Rad" Schoe comes home to find his father dead and his twin brother, Key, almost catatonic, he's shocked.  Key insists he's not sure what exactly happened.  Did their father lose his balance and fall into the ravine?  Or did Key push him?  Rad can't be sure.  He also doesn't know what will happen to him and Key once the police discover what has happened.  While the boys figure out what to do, Rad reflects back, dissecting his life, his family's dynamics, and the enigmatic father he both loved and hated.

I'm not sure what to say about Island by Patrick Downes except that it's a strange little book.  It's more of a philosophical rumination than a novel.  Parts of it are intriguing, other parts are boring, and all of it is just ... odd.  The vibe is unrelentingly sad, heavy, and depressing.  Since it's only 177 pages long, I finished the book, but I had to force myself to get through it.  Maybe it's just me, but I did not get Island at all.  It wasn't an enjoyable or satisfying read for me.  Bummer.

(Readalikes:  Honestly, I have no idea.)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (no F-bombs), violence, and disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of Island from the generous folks at Groundwood Books for the purpose of Cybils Award judging.  Thank you!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin