Wednesday, December 12, 2018

Lakeside Healing Novel A Wordy, Just Okay Read

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

It's been a year since Susannah Gilmore's husband of 20 years died in a bicycle accident and she's still trying to pick up the pieces.  In an effort to start over, the widow moves herself and her two teens from Brooklyn to her family's summer cottage in tiny Eastwood, New Hampshire.  Sixteen-year-old Calista is already boiling over with grief and anger; relocation to the middle of nowhere only makes her more surly.  Her younger brother tries to keep the peace, but the tension in the family never seems to cease, despite their tranquil new surroundings.

When Susannah discovers an intriguing item—a love note addressed to her mother, written in a script that is not her father's—in the house, she finds a needed distraction.  That's not the only thing grabbing her attention, though.  She's researching another puzzling mystery for a novel she's writing, spending more time than she should thinking about handsome Corbin Bailey, and desperately trying to ease her family's heartbreak so they can heal together.  Can Susannah find the answers she's looking for, the peace she's seeking, and the second love she doesn't know she needs?  

The wounded-woman-coming-home-to-heal trope is one I'm always up for, especially when it's done well.  The House on Primrose Pond by Yona Zeldis McDonough fits the first bill, but not necessarily the second.  While the novel has some compelling elements, it's way too long and wordy.  Susannah is a sympathetic heroine, but she's also a selfish, annoying pushover who lets her bratty teenager call all the shots.  I had a hard time respecting her or really caring all that much about her plight.  In the end, then, I found The House on Primrose Pond to be an okay read, nothing more.  

(Readalikes:  A million titles should be coming to mind, but I'm drawing a blank.  Help!)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for brief, mild language (no F-bombs), innuendo/sexual content, and references to illegal drug use

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

4 comments:

  1. If this one's just an okay read then I think I'll pass. Too many other better books to read. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Novels that are long and wordy and so not for me. I get frustrated and want them to get to the point. :-)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah. I probably would have DNF'd it, but I really needed a New Hampshire book for the Literary Escapes reading challenge! LOL.

      Delete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin