Tuesday, May 29, 2018

Close to Home Intriguing Start to Promising New Series

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

DI Adam Fawley knows that most domestic crimes are committed by people the victim knows, often those with whom he or she lives.  So, when 8-year-old Daisy Mason goes missing after a costume party at her Oxford home, he focuses first on her family.  With an obsessive, appearance-obsessed mum, a cold, distant dad, and a strange, moody older brother, Daisy's family certainly seems off, if not flat-out guilty.  One thing is for sure—they're all hiding something.  Did one of them kill the little girl?  Fawley is determined to find out.

While Fawley's got his own problems to deal with, rifling through the Masons' dirty laundry is bringing all kinds of disturbing secrets to light.  Questioning neighbors and acquaintances isn't helping make the Masons look any more innocent.  Still, the evidence isn't coming together quite enough to convince Fawley that he's found his killer.  What really happened to Daisy Mason?  If a family member didn't kill her, who did?  As puzzling as the mystery has become, it's going to get a lot twistier before the case is closed ... 

Close to Home is a debut novel by English mystery writer Cara Hunter and the first in her series featuring DI Adam Fawley.  Although it's not exactly pulse-pounding, the novel is tense, well-plotted, and suspenseful.  The Masons and their associates are almost wholly unlikable, but Fawley is sympathetic if not super original or exciting.  While I figured everything was not quite as it seems, the "unexpected" twist at the end of the book caught me at least a little bit by surprise. I enjoy a mystery that keeps me guessing; overall, this one did that.  I'm not exactly chomping at the bit to get my hands on In the Dark, the next installment (which comes out in July), but I'll definitely read it.  If the books get better as they go, I'm all in for this promising new author and series.

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of British domestic thrillers by Gilly Macmillan, Erin Kelly, etc.)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for strong language, violence, and disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  I bought a copy of Close to Home at Barnes & Noble with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.

10 comments:

  1. This sounds like an interesting book, but I haven't been able to read books where children are kidnapped or murdered since becoming an Aunt. I've tried to read a few and I get so emotional that I have to stop.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I have four kids, so I totally get that! I usually manage to distance myself enough to read kidnapping books, but there are definitely some I've had to stop reading because they've hit too close to home!

      Delete
  2. I have this one on my Kindle, but have not picked it up as yet. Sounds like I need to try it before the second book is published.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'll be interested to hear what you think of it. I haven't even read the synopsis of the second book -- I'm hoping it's intriguing :)

      Delete
  3. A book that can keep me guessing is a winner most of the time for me. Hope the next book is even better!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Right? Especially since there are so many of these kinds of books being written right now. One that surprises me -- even a little -- is a rare gem!

      Delete
  4. Good to know this is a solid mystery read. And here's hoping this author gets even better with each book she writes. :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. I’m always pretty forgiving of an authors first book. Sounds like this author has promise.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Sounds interesting. I wonder if I'd see the twist coming or not especially now that I know there is one.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I've had my eye on this but this is the first time I've seen anyone review it, hopefully the series will get better but it sounds like a good start

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin