Thursday, September 21, 2017

Final Installment a Fitting End to Compelling Teen Mystery Trilogy

(Image from Barnes & Noble

Note:  While this review will not contain spoilers for Hide and Seek, it may inadvertently spoil plot surprises from previous Jess Tennant mysteries.  As always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.

Jess Tennant wasn't thrilled when her mom dragged her away from London to live in tiny Port Sentinel, but the seaside village has definitely grown on her.  She enjoys living with family at Sandhayes, flirting with her hot next door neighbor, and working at the town's dusty thrift shop.  Having gotten herself entangled in some town mysteries over the year since she's lived in Port Sentinel, Jess is known as a bit of a troublemaker.  But, really, she's just an ordinary kid trying to survive high school.

When 16-year-old Gilly Poynter disappears one winter day, Jess can't stop herself from worrying.  She didn't know her classmate well, but she's certain the girl has come to some kind of harm.  If the police won't do something about the missing teen, Jess will.  Even if it means putting herself in harm's way.  Although she's warned away from her amateur investigation, Jess refuses to give up.  She will get answers.

In the meantime, Jess has plenty of other problems.  There's her stepfather's sudden reappearance; her "forbidden" relationship with Will; and the constant friction between her and the police inspector, who also happens to be Will's father.  Can Jess sort out all her personal problems?  Will she uncover the truth about Gilly's disappearance?  With so much on her plate, the last thing she wants to worry about is her personal safety—but that's becoming an increasing concern.  The more she sticks her nose where it doesn't belong, the more danger stalks her every move ...

I've enjoyed all the books in the Jess Tennant trilogy by Irish crime writer Jane CaseyHide and Seek, the final installment, is no exception.  The story moves along at a swift pace, with plenty of twists to keep the reader guessing.  Jess is an engaging heroine—smart, brave, and self-deprecating.  The teens in this series are unrealistically unsupervised and world-weary, but that's about my only complaint with these books.  Otherwise, I've really enjoyed the whole series.  Although Casey's adult books get fairly graphic, her YA mysteries are much easier to stomach.  If you're up for a tense, twisty teen mystery, I'd definitely recommend this trilogy.  Here's hoping Casey pens more books for younger readers!

(Readalikes:  How to Fall and Bet Your Life by Jane Casey; also reminds me a little of the Northwoods Mystery series [Enchantment Lake; The Clue in the Trees] by Margi Preus)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (no F-bombs), violence, and disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

4 comments:

  1. I'm always looking for good YA mysteries. I'm unfamiliar with this author. Thanks!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Definitely need to check out this trilogy! Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I'm glad the ending was satisfying. Nothing like the last book in a series being depressing. I just experienced that. Horrible.

    ReplyDelete
  4. YA mystery is a field I've only dabbled in so far, which is weird considering that I love mystery and I enjoy YA. (Well, YA fantasy, anyway.) Given the British setting, this sounds like a good series for me to try... in my copious spare time, as my husband likes to say!

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin