Thursday, June 08, 2017

When Graphic Novels Just Aren't Your Jam ...

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

When Oona Lee, the clumsiest Sun Dancer on the planet, learns that the Five Worlds are in danger of extinction, she vows to save them.  Her sister—last year's Chosen One—will know what to do.  All Oona has to do is find her runaway offspring.  Surely Jessa, a talented Sand Dancer, will be able to light all five beacons and save the worlds.

Then, war breaks out.  Oona's journey is thwarted by the surprise attack.  Helped by two unlikely allies, she gets back on course.  Finding Jessa isn't easy; it may even be impossible.  If Oona fails in that task, it just might be up to her and her new friends—a penniless street rat and a famous starball player—to play hero.  Oona has never been able to control her sand—how can she possibly use it to save anyone?  As the trio continue on their wild, dangerous adventure, they will all discover the hidden powers inside themselves.  And maybe, just maybe, it will be enough to save the worlds they love.

Full disclosure: I've read exactly one graphic novel besides 5 Worlds: The Sand Warrior, so I'm hardly an expert on the genre.  As expected, the story (written by brothers Mark and Alexis Siegel and illustrated by Xanthe Bouma, Matt Rockefeller, and Boya Sun) is fast-paced and full of action.  The pictures are colorful, eye-catching, and dreamlike.  A lot is going on, both in text and artwork, some of which I followed easily, some of which I didn't.  I'm still a little confused, truth be told.  Still, The Sand Warrior made for a quick, exciting read that should appeal to kids who enjoy comic books.  That kind of thing is not really for me, though, so I don't plan on picking up the next installment of 5 Worlds.  I wouldn't hesitate, however, to hand The Sand Warrior to a reluctant reader who's yearning for a quick, empowering read with plenty of action and adventure to keep his eyes and imagination busy.

(Readalikes:  Um, no clue.  Comics/graphic novels really aren't my jam.  Suggestions?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for violence and scenes of peril

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of 5 Worlds: The Sand Warrior from the generous folks at Random House Children's Books.  Thank you!

2 comments:

  1. Yeah, I'm not excessively fond of graphic novels. I'm trying to read them more and give them a fair shot but they're not really deep enough for me.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Same here. To be fair, though, I've only read two.

      Delete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin