Thursday, May 25, 2017

Life Story of "Salty" General Authority Entertaining, Uplifting (With a Giveaway!)

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Although he served as a General Authority in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints for 46 years, devotion to the Lord is not the trait for which J. Golden Kimball is best known.  In a church that preaches purity in all things—including speech—he was infamous for his "salty" language.  Wielding sharp observational skills, a quick wit, and a penchant for profanity, Kimball remains one of the most colorful men in LDS history.  Stories about the apostle are the stuff of  Mormon legend, but who was the man behind the myth?

http://www.blogginboutbooks.com/p/lds-authors.htmlIn her new book, J. Golden Kimball: The Remarkable Man Behind the Colorful Stories, Kathryn Jenkins Gordon seeks to answer that very question.  She traces Kimball's life from his birth in 1853 (he was one of 65 children born to his polygamist father, Heber C. Kimball), to his early career as a mule driver and rancher, to his remarkable "career" as a leader in the LDS Church, to his death in 1938.  Gordon's account is peppered with lively anecdotes that show Kimball in all his dichotomous glory.  Although he was often criticized for using speech unbecoming of a man of God, his devotion to the Lord and to the Church is undeniable.  Sacrificing everything in the name of the Father, he was a man not unacquainted with poverty, disappointment, and grief.  Yet, he always bore a strong testimony of the Gospel's truth.  

Although I loved learning the details of J. Golden Kimball's life, my favorite part of this book is the anecdotes sprinkled in the margins.  Highlighted are funny, "salty" things he said both person-to-person and over the pulpit.  I read the majority of them out loud to my husband and we had some great laughs together.  Gordon's voice is light and engaging, which made the text even more entertaining.  I knew I would find this biography interesting; I just didn't realize how truly delightful the read would be.  Both humorous and poignant, this is an excellent, very readable account of the life of a truly one-of-a-kind individual.  I highly recommend it if you're looking for a quick, enjoyable read that still manages to be uplifting and inspirational.  

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for mild language (no F-bombs) and brief rude humor

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of J. Golden Kimball: The Remarkable Man Behind the Colorful Stories from the generous folks at Covenant.  Thank you!

--

Want more opinions of this book?  Follow along on its blog tour:


*May 24th: http://mybookaday.blogspot.com/http://ldswritermom.blogspot.com/http://lisaisabookworm.blogspot.com/http://rockinbookreviews.com/
*May 26thhttp://booksaresanity.blogspot.com/http://thethingsilovemost.com/http://whynotbecauseisaidso.blogspot.com/http://literarytimeout.blogspot.com/

Would you like a chance to win your own copy of J. Golden Kimball: The Remarkable Man Behind the Colorful Stories and a $25 Amazon gift card?  Enter the giveaway below:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin