Monday, February 06, 2017

Twisty Murder Mystery Renders Me Riveted

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

At a park in Endleby—a small hamlet near Hereford—a devoted mother walks away from her two small children, leaving them alone.  Twenty hours later, she returns.  Where has she been?  No one knows.  Even Selena Cole herself claims to have no recollection of what she'd been doing while her daughters were left alone.  Is the wealthy psychologist telling the truth?  If she is, then where was she for those missing hours?  If not, then why did she leave her kids?  

Not far away, the body of Dominic Newell, a respected defense attorney, is found on a lonely country road.  Dead from a stab wound, his vicious demise shocks all who knew him.  Who would commit such a savage crime?  

Finn Hale, who's been a sergeant detective for 82 whole days, is tasked with solving the case.  His sister, DC Leah Mackay, is investigating the disappearance of Selena Cole.  Are the two events connected?  Or is it just coincidence that they happened at the same time in a quiet place that, as Finn is wont to say, isn't exactly Mogadishu?  As Finn and Leah look deeper into the disappearance and the murder, they discover some shocking clues about what really happened to both Selena and Dominic.

I don't want to say too much about The Missing Hours by Emma Kavanagh because I think it's one of those books where the less you know going into it, the better.  Suffice it to say, it's a tense, suspenseful psychological thriller with plenty of twists to keep the reader not just engaged, but riveted.  Someone recommended this to me (I can't remember who—so sorry!) and I'm so glad they did.  I enjoyed it.

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:




If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (a handful of F-bombs, plus milder expletives), violence, blood/gore, and depictions of illegal drug use

To the FTC, with love:  A bought a copy of The Missing Hours from Amazon with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.

7 comments:

  1. That sounds so good! I wish I could keep up your pace with reading (and reviewing!!) books! :) I have a long list of to-read's from this site and am tackling them at such a slow rate. :/ Switching gears, now - you should know that your reviews are better than any flap copy or back cover synopsis. More power to you!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. What a kind compliment! Thanks so much, Carolyn. I'm glad you're enjoying the blog :)

      P.S. Do you have a blog? Google won't let me access your profile/blog for some reason ... I'd love to check yours out if you have one!

      Delete
  2. I have a copy of this one, but have not read it yet. Will go pull it off the shelf and put it where I can see it. Sounds like fun! So to speak. LOL

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I don't know about "fun," but it is a good read. LOL.

      Delete
  3. Yay! Another twisty psychological thriller to add to my list. I love these kinds of books. :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. Sounds interesting and I'm intrigued but it sounds like one of those "crime" novels and for some reason I have a block against them right now. :(

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin