Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:


2022 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska (1)
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (2)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa (1)
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (2)
- Massachusetts (4)
- Michigan (2)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi (1)
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (5)
- North Carolina (2)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (2)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:

Antarctica (1)
Australia (2)
Egypt (2)
England (11)
Italy (1)
Nepal (1)
Romania (1)
Scotland (3)
Sweden (1)

My Progress:


27 / 51 states. 53% done!

2022 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


18 / 50 books. 36% done!

2022 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 25 books. 76% done!

2022 Cloak and Dagger Reading Challenge

My Progress:


40 / 53 books. 75% done!

Booklist Queen's 2022 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

Aussie Author Reading Challenge 2022


1 / 24 books. 4% done!

2022 Nonfiction Reader Challenge


3 / 20 books. 15% done!

2022 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge

My Progress:


29 / 50 books. 58% done!

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

My Progress:


37 / 52 books. 71% done!

2022 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


32 / 50 books. 64% done!

2022 Support Book Bloggers Challenge

2022 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Saturday, January 28, 2017

Wimpy Kidish Series Offers Another Funny, Heartfelt Story

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

(Note: Although this review will not contain spoilers for My Life as a Joke, it may inadvertently reveal plot surprises from earlier My Life as ... installments.  As always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.)

Now that Derek Fallon has reached the ripe old age of twelve, it's time for him to grow up.  He even makes a New Year's resolution to take life more seriously.  And he's really, really trying to achieve that goal.  So why is everything going so horrifyingly wrong?  Fate is clearly conspiring against him to make him look like a baby.  First, his volunteering efforts have him collecting dolls (of all things!); then, like a total wimp, he faints while dissecting a frog in science class; a fall from the climbing rope results in a fat lip and an embarrassing lisp; and then the rocking party he plans ... well, it's enough to make an almost-adult go running straight to his mommy.  Can Derek survive all the humiliation the universe is throwing in his face?  If his life is one big joke, how will he ever learn to take it seriously?

With the help of his friends, his pet monkey, and support from an unlikely source, Derek just might make it through (relatively) unscathed.  In fact, he'll learn some very valuable lessons about honesty, priorities, friendship, and being true to himself.  

I haven't read every book in Janet Tashjian's heartfelt series starring Derek Fallon, but I've thoroughly enjoyed the two that I have.  Derek is a very authentic character, someone to whom young readers will no doubt relate.  He's funny, self-deprecating, and very likable.  My Life as a Joke, the fourth book in the series, is an easy, entertaining read enhanced by fun illustrations created by Jake Tashjian, the author's son.  Hand these books to Diary of a Wimpy Kid fans—they'll love this "kinder, gentler" series.  I sure do.

(Readalikes:  Other books in the series, including My Life as a Book; My Life as a Stuntboy; My Life as a Cartoonist; and My Life as a Gamer)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


To the FTC, with love:  I borrowed a copy of My Life as a Joke from the library at my kids' elementary school.

2 comments:

  1. Are your kids reading these too? My mom was always checking out what we were reading.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I've actually been reading this series as part of my volunteer work with the elementary school's reading program. My kids haven't read it, but I think both my 2nd and 6th grader would enjoy it.

      Delete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Farm to Trouble by Amanda Flower

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Lost and Found Bookshop by Susan Wiggs



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive