Wednesday, January 25, 2017

I Found You A Liked-It-Didn't-Love-It Psychological Thriller

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Single mom Alice Lake lives a lonely life by the sea in East Yorkshire.  The 41-year-old takes care of her "Bennetton" children, makes crafts out of old maps, and minds her own business.  Until she notices a strange man sitting on the beach near her cottage.  He remains there all day, barely moving, despite the inclement weather.  The man seems harmless, although he's dazed and can't remember his name or the reason for his vigil at Ridinghouse Bay.  Despite her reservations, Alice offers the man a room for the night.  As a single night turns into many more, she grows increasingly curious about who the stranger is and what he might be hiding.

Meanwhile, in London, Lily Monrose is searching for her missing husband.  The 21-year-old has only been married for three weeks.  She can't imagine where Carl could be.  When she notifies the police of his disappearance, she's shocked to learn that there is no such person as Carl Monrose.  Stuck in a foreign country with no one to lean on, Lily doesn't know where to turn.  

As both women search for answers, shocking secrets will come to light.  What will they be left with when the truth is finally revealed?

I Found You (available in the U.S. on April 25, 2017), a psychological thriller by Lisa Jewell, tells a tense, twisty tale.  It's an intriguing page turner that kept me reading and guessing.  The novel gets depressing, even a little bizarre in places, but overall, it's a compelling read.  Although I didn't love I Found You, I liked it well enough that I'll search out more books by Jewell.  

(Readalikes: Reminded me a little of Coffin Road by Peter May)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language, sexual content, violence, and depictions of illegal drug use

To the FTC, with love:  I received an e-ARC of I Found You from the generous folks at Atria Books (an imprint of Simon and Schuster) via those at NetGalley.  Thank you!

9 comments:

  1. I have this one so I am glad to see you enjoyed it. I have only read one by her and I liked it but didn't love it. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It wasn't bad. Not really great, but not really bad either.

      Delete
  2. I have a copy of this one, but haven't picked it up yet. She's the author that wrote a book about girls in a garden or something like that, right? I may not rush to read it. So many other books - like COFFIN ROAD!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. This is the first book I've ever read by this author, although she's published a number of them. THE GIRLS IN THE GARDEN came out in June. I just realized I FOUND YOU doesn't come out until April 2017.

      Delete
  3. I recognise the author name and I have the Coffin Road on my list to read. Something about the bizarre comment has put me off, last year a couple books were bizarre and it just didn't do it for me.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. COFFIN ROAD is a much better book than this one, IMHO. I FOUND YOU wasn't bad, but it's not great either. And it does get weird ...

      Delete
  4. Well now, I'm inclined to give this one a try...even if you didn't love it.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I've been wanting to read an earlier book by Lisa Jewell but somehow never quite manage to get around to it. I like the sound of this one though I can see where it would be a more like than love kind of book.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Good to know...while I like thrillers, I'm trying to read fewer "liked it" and more "loved it!" books this year. I might skip this one. :)

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin