Monday, January 30, 2017

Creepy Took An Odd, Odd Book

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

When Daniel's dad loses his job in Connecticut, the family must make a dramatic change.  Moving to an old abandoned home in rural Woodville, West Virginia, results in profound culture shock, especially for Daniel and his 7-year-old sister, Erica.  The city kids are picked on by the locals, who spin terrifying yarns about an evil conjure woman who lives in the woods near the home in which the Andersons are living.  Fifty years ago, a young girl disappeared from their house—it's said she was "took" by Old Auntie, forced into slavery for the witch and her bloodthirsty razorback hog.

Daniel refuses to believe the tall tales, no matter how creepy they are.  Then, he realizes just how strangely Erica has been acting since they moved to West Virginia.  His parents are so wrapped up in their own drama that they haven't noticed anything, but Daniel has.  And it's freaking him out.  When Erica disappears one day, he knows she's been "took."  How can Daniel get his sister back?  And who is the ragged girl who appeared in her place?  Can a puny 7th grader really take on a powerful conjure woman—and win?  Daniel is about to find out ...

I'm not sure what to say about Took by Mary Downing Hahn except that it is an odd, odd book.  I seriously can't think of any other way to describe it.  It's creepy, yes, and compelling in a way.  It's also unrelentingly sad and scary—too much so for its intended audience, in my opinion.  I can't imagine handing Took to a child, even one who enjoys scary stories.  It's not all that well-written either, considering the characters are flat and the prose is much more tell than show.  I did finish reading the book as I wanted to find out what happened, but overall, I didn't find it a very satisfying read.  

(Readalikes:  Reminded me a little of Doll Bones by Holly Black)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for violence and scary images

To the FTC, with love:  I borrowed a copy of Took from my children's elementary school library as part of my volunteer work with the school's reading program.

6 comments:

  1. That does sound quite, quite odd. And I've loved other books by Mary Downing Hahn. Have you read WAIT 'TIL HELEN COMES by her? Scary, but fun.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I haven't read any other books by Hahn. Apparently, I started with the wrong one ...

      Delete
  2. This sounds incredibly creepy and it's for kids, you say? Dude, do they want to give them nightmares? I liked scary stories as a kid but not freaky stuff like this. The cover alone freaks me out!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Right? I'm fine with ghost/scary stories for kids, but this one just felt so dark and sad. I can't imagine giving it to a kid to read.

      Delete
  3. That's too bad. Hahn's books are usually so good; I love her other ghost stories. But I think I'll skip this one. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'll have to try some of her other books. It sounds like this one is just a dud.

      Delete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin