Tuesday, March 15, 2016

Small Town Secrets Novel Fails to Satisfy

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Although a newcomer in town, little Wedeskyull, New York, feels like home for Nora Hamilton.  As a restorer of old houses, she's especially happy puttering around hers.  She wishes the home was filled with children, but, for now, she's content with her police officer husband and the possibility of a family in the future.  What Nora could never imagine—not for a second—is Brendan bringing all their dreams to a screaming halt by hanging himself in the attic.  She knew he'd been on edge lately, but that just went with the law enforcement territory, right?  What had driven her stable husband to suicide?  And how could she not have known he was struggling that terribly?

From the first, Brendan's death feels suspicious to his grieving widow.  The more she expresses her doubts, however, the more strongly she's shut down by his friends and colleagues.  They warn her to let it go, but she can't.  Especially when she finds troubling clues that seem to confirm her suspicions.  Then, there's a long ago incident that resulted in the tragic death of Brendan's brother.  Are the two cases related somehow?  Or is Nora's imagination running wild, the result of her all-consuming grief?  As things heat up in a small town with big secrets, she needs answers and fast.  Before her questions are silenced with another "accidental" death—her own.  

I'm always drawn to a good small town secrets novel.  Especially one that is done well.  Cover of Snow by Jenny Milchman fits the bill, at least as far as the former goes.  As for the latter, well, the book leaves quite a bit to be desired.  Although the story is engrossing, it's peopled with unlikable characters, far-fetched situations, and a whole lot of unanswered questions.  Nora seems especially naive and weak.  Her character doesn't grow much throughout the novel either.  Like I said, Cover of Snow leaves a whole lot of loose ends hanging, making for a frustrating reading experience.  So, while I found this book compelling enough to finish, in the end it just irritated the heck out of me.  Needless to say, I probably won't pick up another Milchman thriller.

(Readalikes:  I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language, violence, and blood/gore

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

7 comments:

  1. That's too bad it wasn't better.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Not even one likable character? That's depressing. I need at least one person I can root for.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Agree....this one didn't do much for me either :(

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, it definitely left something to be desired. A bummer because the premise definitely intrigued me.

      Delete
  4. That's too bad, I'm always looking for a good suspense read, and I heard about this book somewhere else. Thanks for the review! I'm adding "Lucifer's Son" http://www.mavrodisergey.com/, by Sergey Mavrodi to my TBR list. One of my good friends recommended it to me and it looks like it absolutely falls in the suspense and thriller genres (even horror if you're in to that). Thanks again for the honest review, it saved me from disappointment!

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin