Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


10 / 30 books. 33% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (3)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (7)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (2)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


22 / 51 books. 43% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


15 / 50 books. 30% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


21 / 50 books. 42% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


42 / 50 books. 84% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 40 books. 63% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 25 books. 36% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


32.2 / 26.2 miles. 123% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


20 / 100 books. 20% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


55 / 104 books. 53% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


54 / 165 books. 33% done!
Tuesday, November 22, 2016

Gentle Triangle Shirtwaist Factory Fire/September 11th Story Thoughtful and Compelling

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

It's been ten years since the Twin Towers collapsed, killing hundreds of people including Taryn Michaels' husband.  Although working at a specialty fabric store and raising her 9-year-old daughter have kept her busy, Taryn still grieves the man she lost too early.  When a 9/11 anniversary story in the newspaper gives her a clue to solving the mystery that's haunted her for a decade, she leaps at the chance to do achieve some closure in the hopes of finally being able to move on with her life.  As she traces the history of a lovely, antique scarf given to her by a heroic stranger, Taryn finds herself drawn in to a century-old story with strange similarities to her own.

In 1911, Clara Wood works as a nurse on Ellis Island.  Living in the hospital dormitory means she rarely has to enter New York City, a place too haunted by memories of the man she loved and the tragic Triangle Shirtwaist Factory fire that stole his life.  It's while caring for a feverish patient who's mourning the recent death of his wife that Clara becomes intrigued by a colorful scarf bearing the name "Lily."  As Clara tries to unravel its mystery, she makes startling discoveries about the article, its owner, and herself.

Two remarkable women—separated by a century, but united by a shared mission—will discover truth and rebirth in a city full of both hope and heartache. 

After reading Margaret Peterson Haddix's Uprising, I wanted to learn more about the Triangle Shirtwaist Factory fire.  A Fall of Marigolds by Susan Meissner came up in a Google search and I'm so glad it did.  It's a compelling novel full of interesting characters with engrossing dilemmas.  The story's gentle, but impacting.  It's an enjoyable read and one that has stuck with me.  This is my first Meissner book and I'm looking forward to exploring more of the author's work.

(Readalikes:  Reminded me a little of Uprising by Margaret Peterson Haddix)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for brief, mild language (no F-bombs)

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

1 comment:

  1. I loved this book! I was drawn into it from the beginning. I found myself reading and telling myself just one more chapter before bed! The characters and their stories are woven together like the marigold scarf. The past is connected to the present. Sad, beautiful, engaging.




    ~Dana@College Reine Marie

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive