Saturday, August 06, 2016

Quick, Timely Read Another Winner for Bolton

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

(Note:  Although this review will not contain spoilers for If Snow Hadn't Fallen, it may inadvertently reveal plot surprises from its predecessor, Now You See Me.  As always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.)

It's only been a few weeks since Lacey Flint did battle with a Jack the Ripper copycat killer.  Emotionally and physically spent from the ordeal, the 29-year-old detective constable has been ordered to rest up in her South London flat.  Off-duty though she is supposed to be, Lacey can't ignore a call for back-up that comes over the police scanner.  She rushes to the scene just in time to witness a Muslim man being burned to death.

The horrific murder of Aamir Chowdhury—a very private 29-year-old doctor—shocks Lacey to her core.  She can't un-see the flames that consumed his body.  Vowing to find Aamir's killer no matter the cost, she flings herself into solving the baffling case.  Twists abound in the investigation, leading Lacey down more sinister paths than she could ever imagine.

If Snow Hadn't Fallen by Sharon Bolton is a novella that fits neatly between Now You See Me and Dead Scared, the first two books in the author's riveting Lacey Flint series.  Like the other installments, it's an exciting read with a surprise ending.  The problem at the story's core is both timely and compelling making If Snow Hadn't Fallen even more impacting.  The shorter format ensures a quick read, which will definitely appeal to Lacey Flint fans who want a juicy tidbit to snack on between bigger "meals."  If you're a fan of this dark, twisty series (as I definitely am), you won't want to miss If Snow Hadn't Fallen.

(Readalikes:  Other books in the Lacey Flint series, including Now You See Me; Dead Scared; Lost; A Dark and Twisted Tide; and Here Be Dragons [novella])

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (two F-bombs) and violence

To the FTC, with love:  I bought a copy of If Snow Hadn't Fallen from Amazon with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha. 

2 comments:

  1. How'd I miss this one?!? I love Bolton's Lacey Flint series. :) But I'm still impatiently waiting for my library copy of Daisy in Chains to come in. Hopefully soon!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's a novella - e-book only, I believe. I almost missed it, too!

      Delete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin