Wednesday, February 17, 2016

Quick, Quirky Reading Revolution Novel An Enjoyable Romp

(Image from Barnes & Noble)


For Lucy Jordan and her two BFFs, the summer that stretches between the end of their 8th grade year and the start of high school is a strange, in-between time.  The long, languid hours deserve to be filled with something different, something epic.  Still reeling from the sudden death of Fat Bob, a favorite teacher, the trio decide to honor him by promoting his favorite book, Harper Lee's To Kill a Mockingbird.  They hatch a plan to "relocate" copies of the classic novel at every bookstore and library they can hit.  If there's a Mockingbird scarcity, they reason, it will drum up interest in the book.  Since the friends won't be doing anything illegal—they're encouraging people to read, after all—it seems like a no-fail plan.

Not surprisingly, Lucy, Elena, and Michael discover they've bitten off way more than they can chew.  Between their relocation hijinks and the social media campaign they've launched, they've created a literary rebellion.  Worried about being found out, Lucy also has to deal with her mother's cancer and her budding romance with Michael.  As everything comes to a head, she'll have to come to terms with all the worries that plague her, including the biggie that looms just around the corner—high school.  And then there's the reading revolution she's inadvertently caused ...

I Kill the Mockingbird by Paul Acampora is a quick, quirky ode to the power of the written word.  It's funny, uplifting, and hopefully, encouraging.  Although they act a little too mature for their age (what modern teenager throws around references to Driving Miss Daisy and Johannes Gutenberg?), the kids at the center of the novel are sympathetic and interesting.  Their plight makes for a compelling story that's refreshingly upbeat.  I loved its focus on books and reading.  Book nerds everywhere will agree: this fun, easy read should be on everyone's TBR list.  You don't need to be a Mockingbird fan (but you should be) to enjoy this entertaining novel.

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything.  You?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for brief, mild language (no F-bombs) and vague references to rape

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

1 comment:

  1. Dang you, Susan! Now I have to add this one to my tbr list too! You're killing me! Check out my post today. I talk all about you doing this to me.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin