Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:


2022 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska (1)
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (5)
- Colorado (3)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (2)
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (2)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa (1)
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (2)
- Massachusetts (5)
- Michigan (2)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi (1)
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico (1)
- New York (9)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon (1)
- Pennsylvania (2)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah (2)
- Vermont (3)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (4)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming (1)
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:

Antarctica (1)
Australia (2)
Egypt (2)
England (15)
France (1)
Greece (1)
Ireland (2)
Italy (1)
Malaysia (1)
Nepal (1)
Poland (1)
Portugal (1)
Romania (1)
Scotland (3)
Sweden (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


36 / 51 states. 71% done!

2022 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 50 books. 38% done!

2022 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


20 / 25 books. 80% done!

2022 Cloak and Dagger Reading Challenge

My Progress:


65 / 53 books. 123% done!

Booklist Queen's 2022 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


43 / 52 books. 83% done!

Aussie Author Reading Challenge 2022


1 / 24 books. 4% done!

2022 Nonfiction Reader Challenge


3 / 20 books. 15% done!

2022 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge

My Progress:


36 / 50 books. 72% done!

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!

2022 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 40 books. 95% done!

2022 Support Book Bloggers Challenge

2022 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Wednesday, February 03, 2016

Crenshaw A Quiet, Sneak-Up-On-You Story About a Little Boy and His Big Worries

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Jackson Wade is going into 5th grade.  He's way too old for imaginary friends.  Which is why the re-appearance of a certain giant feline alarms him so much.  Jackson knows he made Crenshaw up when he was seven as a way to deal with the fear and uncertainty he felt while his family was homeless and living in their minivan.  So, why has Crenshaw returned?  Is it because of the strain that's so palpable in the Wade's rented apartment?  Is it because of the unpaid bills, the empty kitchen cabinets, his parents' arguing, his dad's inability to hold a job because of his MS?  Jackson doesn't want to lose his home again.  The worry is driving him crazy—and Crenshaw's presence is not helping.  

Although Jackson thinks he's old enough to hear the truth this time, he's not sure he can handle what his parents will surely tell him.  Should he ignore his fears and find solace in his old pal Crenshaw?  Or is he mature enough to send Crenshaw packing while he handles the situation like an adult?  Or at least not like a scaredy-cat baby?  Either way, it's a terrifying choice for a boy who's shouldering a burden that already feels too heavy to bear.  

Like her beloved The One and Only Ivan, Katherine Applegate's newest middle grade novel, Crenshaw, is a quiet, sneak-up-on-you kind of story.  It's poignant and touching, heartbreaking yet hopeful.  Crenshaw adds some humor to the tale, but overall, this is a sobering book about a little kid dealing with big worries.  That might put some readers off and that's too bad because Crenshaw is an impacting read that will resonate with kids—and adults—as they struggle with real, difficult problems in life.  Although the novel's resolution is realistically imperfect, the story nonetheless ends on a positive, upbeat note that speaks to the resilience of the human spirit.  Despite its serious subject, this is another can't-miss-it middle grade tale.

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for serious subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

2 comments:

  1. I need to read at least one of her books, I'm thinking. This one sounds good. And since I'm such a crazy cat lady I might enjoy this one best.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Sad premise ... but I like the imaginary friend aspect of it. And Applegate is a good author. The only other book I've read with an imaginary friend front and center is Golden and Grey. Only Tom's imaginary friend turns out to be a ghost. Don't know if you've read that one, but it's really good. I loved it.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Farm to Trouble by Amanda Flower

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Lost and Found Bookshop by Susan Wiggs



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive