Tuesday, December 15, 2015

YA Steampunk/Alternate History Story a Clean, Charming Romp

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Verity Newton, a 17-year-old from Connecticut, is no stranger to adventure.  She's faced danger and derring-do of every possible kind—between the pages of the pulp novels she loves to read.  Her real life has been less exciting, but her luck in that regard appears to be changing.  Verity's train hasn't even reached New York City before it's robbed by gentleman bandits!  And that's only the first of many intriguing encounters she has in the bustling metropolis.

When Verity accepts a position as governess to a trio of orphaned children living with their uncle, she finds herself the employee of a mysterious British magister.  Using magic to ensure its rule, this noble class has always controlled the American colonies.  Living lives of wealth and privilege, they refuse to mingle with commoners—or concern themselves over the petty squabbles of the lower classes.  Lord Henry Lyndon, however, seems a little too interested in the antics of the Rebel Mechanics, an underground group that uses science and engineering to undermine the magicians' power.  Already acquainted with the cheeky rebels, Verity agrees to be their spy.  She hopes to uncover her employer's clandestine activities while keeping her own secrets well hidden from prying eyes.

As the fight between the rebels and the magisters heats up, Verity finds herself caught in the middle—not just between two warring factions, but between two magnetic men.  With danger all around her, she's finally found the grand adventure for which she's been longing.  But will it prove too much for the intrepid Verity?

From the moment I heard about Rebel Mechanics, Shanna Swendson's debut YA novel, I knew I needed to read it.  The alternate history/steampunk premise just sounded fun.  And, you know what?  It really is.  Although the book turned out to be a lighter read than I expected, I still found Rebel Mechanics engaging, entertaining, and immensely enjoyable.  A clean, campy romp, this is the kind of story in which readers of all ages can delight.  Sure, it's predictable.  Yes, it's got a sorta-annoying love triangle.  No, I didn't care.  I just enjoyed this charming, upbeat read.

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:  


for brief, mild language (no F-bombs), and violence

To the FTC, with love:  I bought a copy of Rebel Mechanics from Amazon with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.

7 comments:

  1. You know, I don't think I've ever read a steampunk book. I think I need to give one a go.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Oh this sounds wonderfully fun! Sometimes we need books like this that are pure escapism. :-) By the way, Banished the sequel to Forbidden will be published soon. Did you get an ARC copy?

    ReplyDelete
  3. I enjoy steampunk and this does sound like a fun read, especially after after reading your review. I will have to look for this one.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I really enjoyed Rebel Mechanics. I don't typically read steampunk but I did like this book. I can't wait until the sequel comes out.
    Thanks for sharing your review!
    Amanda

    ReplyDelete
  5. Yeah, this one is actually pretty light on the steampunk. It's there, but it's not overwhelming, if that makes sense. It's a good introduction to the genre ...

    ReplyDelete
  6. This is sooo up my alley! Adding to my Goodreads, thanks so much for sharing :D I never would have found this otherwise

    ReplyDelete
  7. This sounds really fun! The kind of steampunk I can get behind.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin