Monday, February 23, 2015

Mesmerizing Genre-Twister Difficult to Describe, Even Harder to Put Down

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Some books are so hard for me to describe that I don't even bother trying to write my own plot summary.  Such is the case with Laura Ruby's newest YA novel, Bone Gap (available March 3, 2015).  I don't have the words to tell you just how original and mesmerizing it is.  So, I'm just going to whet your appetite with the book's official back cover copy:
Bone Gap  is the story of Roza, a beautiful girl who is taken from a quiet midwestern town and imprisoned by a mysterious man, and Finn, the only witness, who cannot forgive himself for being unable to identify her kidnapper. As we follow them through their melancholy pasts, their terrifying presents, their uncertain futures, acclaimed author Laura Ruby weaves a heartbreaking tale of love and loss, magic and mystery, regret and forgiveness—a story about how the face the world sees is never the sum of who we are.
While the text doesn't seem to say a whole lot, it actually does a nice, succinct job of outlining the story without giving too much away.  I don't want to be spoiler-y either, so I'm just going to say that I loved this compelling, genre-twisting mystery.  The plot kept me guessing and the ending stunned me with its never-seen-it-done-before brilliance.  Bone Gap may be difficult to describe, but reading it was no trouble at all.  I sped through the book as fast as I could, hardly daring to breathe for fear I'd miss something.  Putting it down?  That was the hard part! 

(Readalikes:  I can't think of anything, can you?)

Grade:



If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for strong language (a few F-bombs, plus milder invectives), violence, and depictions of underage drinking/partying

To the FTC, with love:  I received an e-ARC of Bone Gap from the generous folks at HarperCollins via those at Edelweiss.  Thank you!

10 comments:

  1. Wow, you're really gushing about this one! I usually don't read books about kids being kidnapped. It just terrifies me as a mom, but your review has me really really curious about this book.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'd never heard of this one, but it sounds fascinating! Making a note for when I dig myself out of my current TBR pile . . .

    ReplyDelete
  3. I think that I might need to watch for this book if only because you gave it a "A" rating. That's a little difficult for most books to come by here, Susan. LOL

    It does sound intriguing though. I'll put it on my wishlist.

    ReplyDelete
  4. This sounds like a great book, and I always love a mystery. There's nothing like one to keep you up all night reading when you should be doing work/sleeping! Thanks for posting a summary :) I was wondering, if you're interested in books, you might like to check out my blog? I'm doing a reading challenge and am blogging about it. I'd love if you had time to check it out. Looking forward to your next post!

    ReplyDelete
  5. It's so awesome to find page turners like that! And I love blurbs that don't give too much away.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Great. Add another one to my pile!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I've been looking forward to this for a long time. Just pre-ordered on Amazon! One week away! Laura Ruby is a fabulous, smart, funny person, too. I got to spend a week with her in Texas a few years ago. :-)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Yeah, I second Sue . Now I have anther one to add to the mountain.

    ReplyDelete
  9. LOL -- You guys make me laugh! And here I thought I had been overly generous with the A's lately ...

    ReplyDelete
  10. I'd heard a little buzz about this one at the beginning of the year, but yours is the first review I've read. Looks like it's going to have to take up residency on my wish list!

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin