Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


11 / 30 books. 37% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (3)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (8)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (2)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


23 / 51 states. 45% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 50 books. 32% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


21 / 50 books. 42% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


43 / 50 books. 86% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 40 books. 63% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 25 books. 36% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


6 / 26.2 miles (second lap). 23% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


22 / 100 books. 22% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


58 / 104 books. 56% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


60 / 165 books. 36% done!
Thursday, August 06, 2015

What Alice Forgot Another Humorous, Heartfelt Gem From Moriarty

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

When Alice Love tumbles off her exercise bike during her weekly spin class, she knocks her noggin so hard she's thrown back a decade.  She wakes up from the accident convinced she's a frazzled, frumpy 29-year-old, who's happily married to the man of her dreams and pregnant with their first child.  Imagine her surprise when she discovers the truth—she's actually 39, a fit and formidable mom of three, and in the middle of a nasty divorce.  With no memory of anything that's happened over the last ten years, Alice is completely flummoxed.  How can her life have gone so completely awry in such a short period of time?  What happened to her marriage?  Her relationship with her sister?  And, most disconcerting of all, who is the stranger Alice sees when she looks in the mirror? 

As Alice struggles to make sense of her "new" life by piecing together vague recollections of the past decade, she makes some startling discoveries about herself.  Not all of them pleasant.  Alice isn't sure she likes who she's become, but she can't turn back the clock.  Or can she?  Is it too late to salvage the life she once loved?  Will she get a second chance to make things work between her and Nick?  Or will mistakes Alice doesn't even remember making launch her into a future she's too terrified to contemplate?

Although Big Little Lies remains my favorite of Liane Moriarty's novels, I've thoroughly enjoyed all of them.  What Alice Forgot is no exception.  Filled with the Australian author's trademark warmth and humor, it's a thought-provoking novel that asks some very intriguing questions.  Moriarty's deft exploration of familial relationships keeps the reader engrossed, while forcing them to examine their own priorities and choices.  Both funny and poignant, What Alice Forgot is a heartfelt novel about forgiving, forgetting, and fighting for what's most important.  I loved it.

(Readalikes:  Reminded me of Moriarty's other novels, including Big Little Lies and The Husband's Secret)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language and sexual content

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

5 comments:

  1. I agree that Big Little Lies is still my favorite of hers. I do think this is up there for me though. I really enjoyed it and was my first from her. I always love how she weaves her stories. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I have enjoyed all of her books, though The Husband's Secret is my least favorite. This one is my favorite and parts of it still stick in my head long after reading it.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I haven't read one of Moriarty's books. I really need to just drop everything and pick one up.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I loved Alice! I wish there wasnt so many F words so i could pass it to more friends. Like Mac n' Janet there are parts of this book that I still think about

    ReplyDelete
  5. I really enjoyed this book. I couldn't put it down and finished it in two days.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive