Friday, March 13, 2015

Series Ender a Blood-Pumping, Edge-of-Your-Seat, Adrenaline-Fueled Thrill Ride—And So Much More

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

(Note:  While this review will not contain spoilers for UnDivided, it may inadvertently spoil plot surprises from earlier UnWind installments.  As always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.)

In UnDivided, the action-packed conclusion to Neal Shusterman's popular Unwind dystology, the tension and fury surrounding the controversial issue of unwinding is escalating.  While the Marcella Initiative—a law that would allow the unwinding of teens without parental consent—gains favor in the U.S., Proactive Citizenry plans to create an army of patchwork soldiers patterned after Cam Comprix.  Meanwhile, the increasingly maniacal Starkey, followed by his gang of angry disciples, target unwinding facilities with the intention of freeing prisoners and killing all their adult captors.  Stuck in the middle, Connor, Risa, and Lev race to find a solution that will end unwinding forever.  But, with ruthless black market harvesters hot on their trail, they may never get the chance.  All Connor wants is the guaranteed safety of unwanted children—will he finally see his dream realized?  Or, will the Akron AWOL meet the brutal end that's been his fate from the beginning?

While I've enjoyed all the books in this series, the first and last are my favorite.  Although in some ways, I didn't want to reach the end of UnDivided, once I started the novel, I couldn't stop reading.  To say it's a blood-pumping, edge-of-your-seat, adrenaline-fueled thrill ride is a vast understatement.  It's so much more than that.  The book is chilling, startling, funny, clever, provocative, and most of all, hopeful.  It's sad to see the end of a series that I've loved since its beginning, but I know Shusterman's got many more brilliant tricks up his sleeve.  I can't wait to see what he does next.  

(Readalikes:  Other books in the Unwind series [Unwind; UnStrung (novella); UnWholly; and UnSouled)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (no F-bombs), violence/gore, and sexual innuendo

To the FTC, with love:  I bought a copy of UnDivided from Amazon with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.  

3 comments:

  1. I'm glad this series ended well. I wasn't too enthralled with the first book and don't think I'll finish the series. Once again I seem to be the odd man out. Everyone else loved it.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I've really got to finish the series! I'm glad you liked this one so much.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I've never heard of this series, but it sounds good, I'll have to read all of them

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin