Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


8 / 30 books. 27% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (2)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (1)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (1)
- Utah
- Vermont
- Virginia (1)
- Washington
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (4)
- Ireland (1)
- Scotland (1)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


12 / 51 states. 24% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 50 books. 18% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


14 / 50 books. 28% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


28 / 50 books. 56% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


24 / 52 books. 46% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


20 / 40 books. 50% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


5 / 25 books. 20% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


14 / 26.2 miles. 53% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


13 / 100 books. 13% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


30 / 104 books. 29% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


28 / 52 books. 54% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


28 / 165 books. 17% done!
Friday, February 06, 2015

Dystopian-Horror-Psychological Thriller Mash Up Makes For a Nice, If Terrifying, Blend

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Something has been unleashed on the unsuspecting world.  Something that makes people turn, causing them to lash out like feral, bloodthirsty animals.  A mere glance at the monster is all it takes.  Violent, horrific deaths are always—always—the result.  The few people who are left know there's only one way to survive in a world gone mad: blind.  Wearing blindfolds at all times, they must learn to navigate the treacherous new landscape using their less finely-tuned senses.  But while they're vigilant about protecting their eyes, there's no way to safeguard their even more delicate minds ...

Malorie, the young mother of 4-year-old twins, knows its time for her to leave the abandoned house in Detroit where she's been hiding for the past four years.  She's heard of a safe house for refugees like herself.  For the sake of her children, she knows she must get them all there.  Against every instinct—everything she's been taught about survival—Malorie leaves the house to brave the vast, unknown world.  Blindfolded against the terrifying presence that stalks them at all times, the trio must make a long, death-defying journey that they can only hope will lead to safety.  

While Bird Box by singer/songwriter Josh Malerman might seem to be just another run-of-the-mill horror/dystopian, it definitely brings something new to the table.  The whole blindness thing takes it to a different level, giving the novel a psychological thriller aspect that sets it apart.  Something about never knowing quite who/what your enemy is (Human?  Monster?  A figment of your overwrought imagination?) makes this story so much more terrifying than others I've read.  If you're down for a taut, horrifying read, pick this one up—just make sure you leave the lights on :)

(Readalikes:  Hm, nothing is coming to mind.  Ideas?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language, violence/gore, intense situations and depictions of illegal drug use

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

2 comments:

  1. Oh my gosh! This one sounds terrifyingly fun. I must read it now. I'll probably get far too analytical with it but oh well.

    ReplyDelete
  2. That sounds creepy but great - I might have to check it out.
    By the way, I nominated you for the Versatile Blogging Award. You can check it out here - http://elenasquareeyes.com/2015/02/07/the-versatile-blogger-award/

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Kill Her Twice by Stacey Lee

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
My Lady Jane by Brodi Ashton, Cynthia Hand, and Jodi Meadows



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive