Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:


2022 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska (1)
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (2)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa (1)
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (2)
- Massachusetts (4)
- Michigan (2)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi (1)
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (5)
- North Carolina (2)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (2)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:

Antarctica (1)
Australia (2)
Egypt (2)
England (9)
Italy (1)
Nepal (1)
Romania (1)
Scotland (3)
Sweden (1)

My Progress:


27 / 51 states. 53% done!

2022 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


17 / 50 books. 34% done!

2022 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 25 books. 76% done!

2022 Cloak and Dagger Reading Challenge

My Progress:


40 / 53 books. 75% done!

Booklist Queen's 2022 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


37 / 52 books. 71% done!

Aussie Author Reading Challenge 2022


1 / 24 books. 4% done!

2022 Nonfiction Reader Challenge


3 / 20 books. 15% done!

2022 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge

My Progress:


28 / 50 books. 56% done!

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

My Progress:


36 / 52 books. 69% done!

2022 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


30 / 50 books. 60% done!

2022 Support Book Bloggers Challenge

2022 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Friday, February 06, 2015

Dystopian-Horror-Psychological Thriller Mash Up Makes For a Nice, If Terrifying, Blend

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Something has been unleashed on the unsuspecting world.  Something that makes people turn, causing them to lash out like feral, bloodthirsty animals.  A mere glance at the monster is all it takes.  Violent, horrific deaths are always—always—the result.  The few people who are left know there's only one way to survive in a world gone mad: blind.  Wearing blindfolds at all times, they must learn to navigate the treacherous new landscape using their less finely-tuned senses.  But while they're vigilant about protecting their eyes, there's no way to safeguard their even more delicate minds ...

Malorie, the young mother of 4-year-old twins, knows its time for her to leave the abandoned house in Detroit where she's been hiding for the past four years.  She's heard of a safe house for refugees like herself.  For the sake of her children, she knows she must get them all there.  Against every instinct—everything she's been taught about survival—Malorie leaves the house to brave the vast, unknown world.  Blindfolded against the terrifying presence that stalks them at all times, the trio must make a long, death-defying journey that they can only hope will lead to safety.  

While Bird Box by singer/songwriter Josh Malerman might seem to be just another run-of-the-mill horror/dystopian, it definitely brings something new to the table.  The whole blindness thing takes it to a different level, giving the novel a psychological thriller aspect that sets it apart.  Something about never knowing quite who/what your enemy is (Human?  Monster?  A figment of your overwrought imagination?) makes this story so much more terrifying than others I've read.  If you're down for a taut, horrifying read, pick this one up—just make sure you leave the lights on :)

(Readalikes:  Hm, nothing is coming to mind.  Ideas?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language, violence/gore, intense situations and depictions of illegal drug use

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

2 comments:

  1. Oh my gosh! This one sounds terrifyingly fun. I must read it now. I'll probably get far too analytical with it but oh well.

    ReplyDelete
  2. That sounds creepy but great - I might have to check it out.
    By the way, I nominated you for the Versatile Blogging Award. You can check it out here - http://elenasquareeyes.com/2015/02/07/the-versatile-blogger-award/

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Farm to Trouble by Amanda Flower

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Lost and Found Bookshop by Susan Wiggs



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive