Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


12 / 30 books. 40% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (2)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (5)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (2)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (2)
- England (10)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (4)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


29 / 51 states. 57% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


26 / 50 books. 52% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


23 / 50 books. 46% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


48 / 50 books. 96% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


41 / 52 books. 79% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


27 / 40 books. 68% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


10 / 25 books. 40% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


13 / 26.2 miles. 50% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


26 / 100 books. 26% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


68 / 104 books. 65% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


44 / 52 books. 85% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


74 / 165 books. 45% done!
Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Riveting Winterkill Feels Familiar, But Fresh

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

It's a little silly to try to write my own plot summary for a book when a perfectly good one—actually, a great one—already exists.  Since re-inventing the wheel is just so last century, I'm going to give you the publisher's version.  Both concise and precise, it offers a brilliant overview of Winterkill by Kate A. Boorman:
Emmeline knows she’s not supposed to explore the woods outside her settlement. The enemy that wiped out half her people lurks there, attacking at night and keeping them isolated in an unfamiliar land with merciless winters. Living with the shame of her grandmother’s insubordination, Emmeline has learned to keep her head down and her quick tongue silent.


When the settlement leader asks for her hand in marriage, it’s an opportunity for Emmeline to wash the family slate clean—even if she has eyes for another. But before she’s forced into an impossible decision, her dreams urge her into the woods, where she uncovers a path she can’t help but follow. The trail leads to a secret that someone in the village will kill to protect. Her grandmother followed the same path and paid the price. If Emmeline isn’t careful, she will be next.   
Taut and compelling, Winterkill is an intense, atmospheric novel that kept me riveted from its first page to its last.  Although it contains many familiar dystopian components, it's really more of a psychological thriller than the usual post-apocalyptic survival drama.  The novel isn't all that original, really, but it's so well crafted that it feels fresh and unique.  In a word (okay, three):  I loved it.

(Readalikes:  The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for violence, intense situation, and brief nudity

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

2 comments:

  1. I do love the cover on this one and the premise sounds interesting. While I'm not a big dystopian reader I do love a good psychological thriller and have found myself drawn to them more lately. I'll definitely have to keep an eye out for this one!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Wow! I'd seen this one around but it wasn't on my radar. It is now! I adore Carrie Ryan's The Forest of Hands and Teeth so I definitely will be picking this one up.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive