Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (3)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


27 / 51 states. 53% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


6 / 25 books. 24% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


32 / 50 books. 64% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Monday, October 14, 2013

Grim, Gripping Not a Drop to Drink Not to Be Missed

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Lynn knows survival in her harsh, drought-plagued world depends on one thing: water.  If she and her mother want to live—and they do—they must protect their pond with everything they've got.  The 16-year-old has been taught to show no mercy to trespassers; if someone edges too close to their precious supply, Lynn shoots to kill.

It's not until tragedy strikes and the teen finds herself defending the pond alone that she begins to question her mother's extreme caution.  Is it possible that some strangers can be trusted?  With danger lurking on the horizon, does Lynn dare ask for help in defending her water?  Or will showing even an ounce of weakness make her a bigger target?  Lynn's mother taught her to trust no one, depend on no one, help no one, but now she's got to make her own choices—can she risk putting her life in someone else's hands?  What about her heart?  As threats to her priceless pond creep closer and closer, Lynn must learn to defend more than just her property.  Only one question remains:  Will she survive?

Describing Not a Drop to Drink, a debut novel by Mindy McGinnis, well enough to do it justice is pretty much impossible.  At least for me.  Suffice it to say that the post-apocalyptic YA story is a grim, gripping tour-de-force made all the more horrifying by its utter believability.  No other tale of this type has spooked me quite as much as this one.  Harsh as it is, though, Not a Drop to Drink has plenty of heart.  Surprised? It's true that Lynn can be a difficult character to like, but as she opens up, she reminds us what it really means to be human.  While I won't go so far as to label this novel "hopeful," I will give it a few other adjectives: strong, mesmerizing, thrilling and, yes, lovely (in a bleak, brutal kind of way).  If you read only one YA dystopian this year, make sure it's this one.  I can pretty much guarantee you won't be disappointed.

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of any that are really similar.)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for violence/gore, language (1 F-bomb, plus milder invectives) and sexual content

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of Not a Drop to Drink from the generous folks at Harper Collins.  Thank you!

0 bookworm(s) said...:

Post a Comment

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive