Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


11 / 30 books. 37% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (3)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (8)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (2)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


23 / 51 states. 45% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 50 books. 32% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


21 / 50 books. 42% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


43 / 50 books. 86% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 40 books. 63% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 25 books. 36% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


6 / 26.2 miles (second lap). 23% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


21 / 100 books. 21% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


58 / 104 books. 56% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


59 / 165 books. 36% done!
Friday, February 08, 2013

Frozen A Tidy, But Decent Historical Mystery









(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Eleven years ago, in the middle of a fierce snowstorm, 5-year-old Sadie Rose was found in a snowbank, frozen almost to death.  She hasn't uttered a word since.  Only vague memories of that night remain, which is just as well.  Why would Sadie Rose want to remember the night she wandered into the blizzard looking for her mother, only to discover the woman had drunk herself to death?  It was better this way, wasn't it?  Instead of growing up in the brothel where her mother worked, she's being reared in a senator's home, enjoying all the luxuries his wealth can buy.  So what if the Worthingtons won't officially adopt her?  This life is infinitely better than the one Sadie Rose would have had otherwise.  Isn't it?

When Sadie Rose finds some old photographs of her mother, a powerful curiosity is awakened inside her.  Who was her mother, really?  What led her to succumb to a life of prostitution?  And what really happened on the night she died?  As Sadie Rose tries to make sense of the blurry images that haunt her memory and learn the truth about her past, she makes an even more powerful discovery—her voice.  But what she has to say could ruin reputations, if not lives.  And there are people out there who would gladly silence her forever ...

Set during a tumultuous time in history—a time of Prohibition and dirty politics—Frozen by Mary Casanova is a stirring drama about the eternal struggle between the powerful and the powerless.  Sadie Rose is a sympathetic heroine with a worthy goal.  It's easy to root for her success.  The novel's plot moves swiftly, keeping the story chugging along.  It feels contrived in places and the ending's too tidy, but all in all, it's a decent mystery that's both atmospheric and affecting.        

(Readalikes:  Reminded me a little bit of Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys)

Grade:  B-

If this were a movie, it would be rated:  PG-13 for language (no F-bombs), sexual content and violence

To the FTC, with love:  I received an e-galley of Frozen from the generous folks at University of Minnesota Press (via NetGalley).  Thank you!


2 comments:

  1. This sounds like a great one. Thanks for sharing because I would likely have never stumbled across this book without your review!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I almost downloaded this one too but then looked at my huge TBR pile and changed my mind. Glad you enjoyed it though.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive