Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


10 / 30 books. 33% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (2)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (1)
- Utah
- Vermont (1)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (1)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (7)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (1)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


18 / 51 states. 35% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


13 / 50 books. 26% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


20 / 50 books. 40% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 50 books. 76% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 52 books. 63% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


23 / 40 books. 57% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


5 / 25 books. 20% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


25 / 26.2 miles. 95% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


19 / 100 books. 19% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


50 / 104 books. 48% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


39 / 52 books. 75% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


45 / 165 books. 27% done!
Thursday, January 10, 2013

Poignant And Hopeful, The Lovely Shoes Speaks to All

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Franny Hall should be excited about starting high school, even if it's just in tiny Eastbrook, Ohio.  But she's not.  While her friends can't wait to go to dances, date older boys, and try out for the cheerleading squad, 14-year-old Franny's mortified by the thought of even trying those things.  She already knows she's hideous, with her deformed left foot and clunky orthopedic shoes, she doesn't need immature high school boys to remind her of that already humiliating fact.  If only she were normal, like her best friend Boots, then she'd be able to enjoy all these new opportunities.  Life has taught Franny that gimps like her shouldn't even bother for fairy tale endings because they just ain't gonna happen.  

Margaret Hall, Franny's beautiful, flamboyant mother, doesn't care what anyone else says—she thinks Franny's beautiful.  And more than capable of dancing, dating and cheering with the best of them.  But her daughter's despair spurns her into action.  She hatches a wild plan that involves traveling to Italy and convincing famous designer Salvatore Ferragamo to create a perfect shoe for Franny.  It's a wild idea—even for Margaret—but one that just might change everything for a self-conscious girl with an uncooperative left foot.  

Based on the author's real-life experience, The Lovely Shoes by Susan Shreve is a story about one girl's quest to accept her body, despite its flaws.  It's an engaging and hopeful tale, one that feels authentic and true.  Every girl can relate to Franny's struggles—not just with self-image, but also with trying to fit in, navigating changing friendships, and falling in love for the first time.  Not to mention discovering the power of the perfect pair of shoes!  Poignant but funny, The Lovely Shoes is a memorable story that will speak to anyone who's ever felt out of place (in other words: all of us).  

(Readalikes:  Um, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:  B-

If this were a movie, it would be rated:  PG for mild sexual innuendo

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of The Lovely Shoes from the generous folks at Scholastic.  Thank you!  

1 comment:

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Swimming in a Sea of Stars by Julie Wright

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Tobacco Wives by Adele Myer



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive