Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


5 / 30 books. 17% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (1)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah
- Vermont
- Virginia (1)
- Washington
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- England (3)
- Ireland (1)
- Scotland (1)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


9 / 51 states. 18% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


6 / 50 books. 12% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


12 / 50 books. 24% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


23 / 50 books. 46% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


20 / 52 books. 38% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 40 books. 40% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


2 / 25 books. 8% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


11 / 26.2 miles. 42% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


11 / 100 books. 11% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


24 / 104 books. 23% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


23 / 52 books. 44% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


23 / 165 books. 14% done!
Saturday, October 13, 2012

Gentle Dystopians? Not For Bloodthirsty Me.

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Remember about a month ago when I said this book was the gentlest dystopian I'd ever read?  Well, I might have lied.  The Age of Miracles, a debut novel by Karen Thompson Walker, is also a quiet, mostly anticlimactic story about the end of the world.  It's dystopian, but (mostly) without all the violent intensity of most books in the genre.  It's a slow, ethereal kind of story, one that's deep, ponderous and, well, kind of boring.  After reading two books like this, I'm finding that I need my dystopians to be taut and suspenseful.  Otherwise, they just don't work very well for me.

At any rate, the story goes a little something like this:  Julia, an 11-year-old California girl, wakes up one morning to find that the earth's rotation is slowing down.  While the phenomenon seems to spell certain doom for the world at large, at first not a lot changes.  Julia still attends school, hangs out with her friends and tries to make sense of her eccentric grandfather.  As time crawls along, however, time becomes an unpredictable thing, a change so momentous that it leads to chaos, hate and even violence.  Meanwhile, Julia's dealing with the usual tween woes—friend fights, tension between her parents, and trying to get a cute boy to notice her.  While life moves slowly on, Earth's inhabitants are well aware that it's only a matter of time before life as they know it disappears forever.  

Like I said, not a lot happens in The Age of Miracles.  The book boasts some lovely writing and the subject matter is thought-provoking; all in all, though, it's just kind of dull.  Depressing, too.  A ho-hum read for me, this one failed to leave any big impressions, leaving me pretty much ambivalent.  Yeah, 'nough said.     

(Readalikes:  Reminded me a teensy bit of Safekeeping by Karen Hesse and of The Leftovers by Tom Perrotta)

Grade:  C+

If this were a movie, it would be rated:  R for language (a few F-bombs, plus milder invectives) and mild sexual innuendo/content

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find         

3 comments:

  1. Um, if the world stopped spinning wouldn't it be completely disastrous?! This one sounds more like a contemporary with a apocalyptic element thrown in. :(

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm going to skip this one. I need edge-of-my-seat suspense and fast-paced action in dystopian novels, too. (And apparently, I need hyphens in my comments :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Sorry to hear you were underwhelmed by this book. I'd seen it in the shops and been intrigued by the idea. I may still give it a go, but wait for the paperback or the library to get a copy, and not raise my expectations too high.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Kill Her Twice by Stacey Lee

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
My Lady Jane by Brodi Ashton, Cynthia Hand, and Jodi Meadows



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive