Friday, August 03, 2012

Good Sister/Bad Sister Murder Mystery Leaves Me Feeling Duped (and that's not a good thing!)

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Abby Goodwin has spent her whole life defending her screw-up little sister.  At least that's how it seems.  She's stuck up for 15-year-old Maya when she broke curfews, came home drunk, fooled around with boys, experimented with drugs—everything.  Even the girls' parents have given up on Maya.  Not Abby.  She'll always be there for sister, no matter what.

Then, Abby stumbles across the dead body of one of the most popular boys at her high school.  When she finds Maya's cell phone near the corpse, she's stunned.  Since Maya hasn't been home in weeks, Abby's not sure where to find her—she just knows she has to get to her sister before the police do.  Determined to protect Maya, regardless of what she may have done, Abby vows to find the real killer.  Maya has her problems, but she couldn't have murdered the guy she loved, could she?  As Abby investigates the crime, she's less and less sure of her sister's innocence ...

For me, The Deadly Sister by Eliot Schrefer is one of those like-the-premise-not-the-execution type of books.  Novels about sister relationships always intrigue me and one played out against the backdrop of a murder sounded even more interesting.  And it would have been, had it been done well.  But, Schrefer's story got very unrealistic very fast.  The characters weren't developed enough, the plot gets seriously contrived, Schrefer tells more than shows and there's a twist at the end of the story that literally made me grind my teeth in irritation.  I can't say much without being spoiler-y, but the phrase "cheap tricks" comes to mind.  Making me feel duped is so not the way for an author/book to win my eternal love.  Hence the "D" grade.  Yeah, 'nough said.  

(Readalikes:  Um, I can't really think of anything.  Suggestions?)

Grade:  D

If this were a movie, it would be rated:  PG-13 for language (no F-bombs), sexual innuendo/content, and depictions of illegal drug use

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of The Deadly Sister from the generous folks at Scholastic.  Thank you! 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin