Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


5 / 30 books. 17% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (1)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah
- Vermont
- Virginia (1)
- Washington
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- England (3)
- Ireland (1)
- Scotland (1)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


9 / 51 states. 18% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


6 / 50 books. 12% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


12 / 50 books. 24% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


23 / 50 books. 46% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


20 / 52 books. 38% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 40 books. 40% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


2 / 25 books. 8% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


11 / 26.2 miles. 42% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


11 / 100 books. 11% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


24 / 104 books. 23% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


23 / 52 books. 44% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


23 / 165 books. 14% done!
Saturday, July 28, 2012

Origin: Languid Loveliness, Subtle Darkness

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Hidden in a secret research facility in the middle of the Amazon rainforest is a girl like no other.  Pia may look like your average 17-year-old, but she's not.  She's smarter, stronger, more indestructible than any person on Earth.  Unlike other humans, Pia is immortal.  Long after her creators die, long after everyone she knows passes on, she will live.  

Even though Pia's surrounded by a team of scientists, two of whom are—technically, anyway—her parents, she can't help feeling lonely.  She's never seen another teenager, let alone talked to one or hung out with one.  And she wants to.  Desperately.  The scientists would scold her for entertaining such human emotions, but she can't help it.  She's been promised that someday soon she will be able to help create a boy, her perfect companion.  Together, they will create a new generation of immortals.  The trouble is, she's not sure she can wait that long.

When an illicit trek into the jungle brings Pia face-to-face with a native boy, 17-year-old Eio Farwalker, she's stunned.  Even more shocking is that she wants to see him again.  And again.  And again.  Contact with the outside world is strictly prohibited—Pia can't even imagine what will happen if she's caught.  As she struggles to deny the allure of Eio and the freedom he enjoys, she takes a hard look at her world.  For the first time, she wonders and questions and doubts the laws of her own existence.  Knowing she can't live in both worlds, Pia must make a terrifying choice—and live with the consequences, deadly though they may be.

Although the premise behind Origin by Jessica Khoury (available September 4, 2012) may not be all that original, it still makes for an exciting novel.  Don't expect an action-packed thriller, though, because the author takes her time building suspense.  This isn't a bad thing.  Not at all.  In fact, her prose has a languid loveliness to it that makes the story's subtle darkness even more affecting.  Although the plot gets predictable, I enjoyed this one—even if it was more for the storytelling than for the actual story.         

(Readalikes:  Although Origin isn't dystopian, it reminds me of books like Matched by Ally Condie and Delirium by Lauren Oliver; also a little of Partials by Dan Wells.)  

Grade:  B

If this were a movie, it would be rated:  PG for mild language (no F-bombs), violence and sexual innuendo

To the FTC, with love:  I received a printed ARC as well as an e-ARC (via Netgalley) of Origin from the generous folks at Razorbill (a division of Penguin).  Thank you!

1 comment:

  1. Nice review! I like books that can pull off a "slow build." They tend to have better worldbuilding. The cover on this book rocks!

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Kill Her Twice by Stacey Lee

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
My Lady Jane by Brodi Ashton, Cynthia Hand, and Jodi Meadows



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive