Saturday, May 19, 2012

LDS Suspense A (Surprisingly) Enjoyable Read

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

(Note:  While this review will not contain spoilers for Smokescreen, it may inadvertently reveal plot surprises from earlier novels in the Saint Squad series.  As always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.)

Studying art in Europe has been a dream come true for 24-year-old Taylor Palmetta.  Not only has she learned a ton about painting, but she's almost—almost—forgotten all about Quinn Lambert, the Navy SEAL who broke her heart.  But when someone breaks into her Paris hotel room, targeting her for some unknown reason, Taylor's so shaken up she's not sure what to do.  Returning to her home in Virginia Beach seems to be the only solution, the only thing that makes her feel safe. 

Until she can find her own apartment in Virginia, Taylor moves in with her sister, Riley, who's married to Tristan Crowther, a member of the same SEAL squad as Quinn.  The fact that Tristan and Quinn are not just co-workers, but also best friends, means Taylor's thrown into the latter's company way before she's had a chance to prepare herself.  And she really should have taken more time to steel her heart because as soon as she sees Quinn, she realizes her feelings for him have not cooled one bit.  He obviously doesn't feel the same way, so, once again, Taylor's got to figure out how to move on. 

In the meantime, Taylor's not feeling any safer.  Even so far from Paris, she's still being harassed.  She just can't figure out why.  She needs answers—and soon.  With the help of Quinn and Tristan's "Saint Squad," she'll get them, but knowing why only makes Taylor more terrified.  And while the SEALS are figuring out how to save the world, she's got an even bigger mystery to tackle:  Quinn.  

As you can probably tell from the reviews I've been posting lately, I'm not big on LDS suspense.  True, I don't read a lot of it, but when I do, I remember why I don't (if that makes any sense).  Thus, I was surprised by how much I did enjoy Smokescreen by Traci Hunter Abramson.  It could have used stronger writing, better character development (although, in the author's defense, I didn't realize Smokescreen was part of a series and, therefore, didn't read the first books in which the characters were introduced and, presumably, fleshed out), and tighter plotting.  Still, Abramson, who worked for the CIA, seemed knowledgeable and surprised me with some of her plot twists.  All in all, I found Smokescreen an entertaining read, although certainly not a flawless one.    



(Readalikes:  Other books in the Saint Squad series by Traci Hunter Abramson)


Grade:  B-

If this were a movie, it would be rated:  PG for violence and mild sexual innuendo

To the FTC, with love:  I received an e-ARC of Smokescreen from the generous folks at Covenant Communications via the Whitney Awards Committee.  Thank you! 

1 comment:

  1. I admire you for reading lds fiction. Its usually so bad you're lucky if you stumble on a good one. Glad thus one was "ok". ;)

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin