Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


9 / 30 books. 30% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (2)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (1)
- Utah
- Vermont (1)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (6)
- France (1)
- Ireland (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


14 / 51 states. 27% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


13 / 50 books. 26% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


18 / 50 books. 36% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


37 / 50 books. 74% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


29 / 52 books. 56% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


22 / 40 books. 55% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


5 / 25 books. 20% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


22 / 26.2 miles. 84% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


18 / 100 books. 18% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


43 / 104 books. 41% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


39 / 165 books. 24% done!
Thursday, April 12, 2012

Debut Regency Romance Not Without Its Charms

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

The last thing Sir Anthony Crenshaw wants to do is waste a day escorting a silly young woman out of London and into the English countryside.  He's got much more pressing matters to attend to—sleeping the morning away being the most desirable.  But the Dowager Duchess of Marcross has assigned him the task and Sir Anthony wouldn't dream of disobeying his grandmother.  

Ginerva "Ginny" Delacourt feels much the same—she isn't at all enamored with the idea of traveling even a kilometer with the fussy Sir Anthony.  But, as an unmarried woman of only one and twenty, not to mention the grand-niece and ward of a duchess, she has little choice in the matter.  It's suffer the presence of a snobby, egotistical social climber or spend even more of her time trapped in the stifling confines of London society.  

Both settle in for a dull, unpleasant journey.  When their carriage is attacked by highwaymen, it becomes apparent that the trip will be anything but boring.  Indeed, it grows more interesting by the hour.  Forced together on this unlikely adventure, Sir Anthony and Ginny will spend considerable time together.  Enough time to realize just how different they really are—and how little that matters when it comes to affairs of the heart.  

Miss Delacourt Speaks Her Mind by first-time author Heidi Ashworth is an enjoyable Regency romance.  The story is predictably lighthearted and humorous, with characters who aren't exactly original, but who are entertaining nonetheless.  Though the plot gets a little silly (all the confusion between the characters could have been cleared up easily if they had just spoken plainly to one another), I still found the book to be a fun, easy read, the kind I like to enjoy between more demanding books.  Like I said, it's not all that original or surprising and yet, it definitely has its charms.

(Readalikes:  Reminded me of books by Sarah M. Eden)

Grade:  B-

If this were a movie, it would be rated:  PG for mild sexual innuendo

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

1 comment:

  1. I used to read so many regency romance novels that I'm afraid I burned myself out. They're fun but oh so predictable. I'm always happy when a debut author does well, though.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Swimming in a Sea of Stars by Julie Wright

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Tobacco Wives by Adele Myer



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive