Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


10 / 30 books. 33% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (3)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (8)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (2)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


23 / 51 states. 45% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 50 books. 32% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


21 / 50 books. 42% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


42 / 50 books. 84% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 40 books. 63% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 25 books. 36% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


33.2 / 26.2 miles. 127% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


21 / 100 books. 21% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


56 / 104 books. 54% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


57 / 165 books. 35% done!
Monday, January 16, 2012

Crazy Fun and Entertaining

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Except for the fact that they all go to Clifton Springs High School, Sicilee Kewe, Maya Baraberra and Waneeda Huddlesfield have little in common. Until a gorgeous new boy arrives, that is. Now—probably for the first time in their lives—the three girls want the same thing: Cody Lightfoot. A transplant from California, Cody is not just good-looking, he's also charming, friendly, and smart. Before long, he's starring in the daydreams of nearly every girl at CSHS. Since he can clearly have anyone he wants, the only question is—who will he choose?

Sicilee knows she can turn Cody's head. She's got the looks, the fabulous wardrobe, the star power that comes with being one of the most popular kids in school. What she doesn't have is the effortless cool that makes Maya stand out. Not that Sicilee's worried. Much. Waneeda, on the other hand, knows the hottest guy to ever walk the corridors of Clifton Springs would never look her way. Until he does. She may be a dumpy, junk food-obsessed nobody, but she also has a tiny, flickering hope that maybe, just maybe, she can win the heart of one Cody Lightfoot.

When Cody joins the very unpopular Environmental Club, the girls discover where his true passion lies. And rush to exploit it. In a mad scramble to out-granola each other, the trio commit to veganism, bicycling to school every day, wearing recycled clothes—anything to get Cody to notice them. But as the days go by, the girls find themselves asking if living so unnaturally is really worth it, if he is really worth it. Because, seriously, isn't this whole love thing getting just a little bit crazy?

I always need a nice, light read to buoy me up after consuming a dark dystopian and The Crazy Things Girls Do For Love by Dyan Sheldon worked like a dream. It's a funny, lighthearted novel that, despite being utterly predictable (and a tad preachy), is also totally entertaining. A bubble-gummy read it may be, but I enjoyed it nonetheless.

(Readalikes: I should be able to name dozens of titles, but I'm drawing a blank. Any suggestions?)

Grade: B

If this were a movie, it would be rated: PG-13 for language (no F-bombs) and sexual innuendo

To the FTC, with love: I received a finished copy of The Crazy Things Girls Do For Love from the generous folks at Candlewick Press. Thank you!

2 comments:

  1. I hadn't heard of this one but it definitely sounds like a fun light read. I'm off add it to my TBR shelf.

    ReplyDelete
  2. You call it a "bubble gummy read" but you know, sometimes we need those kinds of guilty pleasures. Who says books always have to be dark and sinister?

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive