Wednesday, December 14, 2011

I Can't Say I Loved It, I Can Say I Enjoyed It

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

It's not easy for an (almost) high school freshman to land the perfect summer job. Luckily, Jock doesn't have to worry about flipping burgers at McDonald's or scrubbing vehicles at the car wash - his grandpa owns a golf complex, where there's always work to be done. It's fun work, though, and Jock loves it. He especially enjoys working with his grampus, a grouchy old geezer whose life seems absolutely perfect to Jock. Not only does grampus spend his days out in the sunshine, but he often does it sans shirt or shoes. He gets to toodle all over the complex in a golf cart, flirt with the lady golfers, and dig holes with his backhoe. What could be better than that?

Jock's shocked at grampus' reaction when two of his old cronies come to the golf complex, flashing all their money and success in grampus' face. Grampus puts on a good show, but Jock can tell he's ashamed, embarrassed by his unfinished, homegrown golf course. Stunned, Jock watches as a deflated grampus becomes obsessed with turning his business into something glamorous and profitable enough to impress his rich friends. Grampus is working himself to death and Jock just doesn't understand why. Can't he see he already has the perfect life?

As Jock tries to talk some sense into his grandpa, he learns some hard, but enlightening truths about family, friendship and what really matters in the "Big Game of Everything," otherwise known as life.

The Big Game of Everything, a YA novel by Chris Lynch, is skimpy on plot, but big on heart. It's a funny, quirky little novel that's simply about a teenage boy's concern for the grandfather he adores. With no love triangles, no vampires, and no excursions into Faerie land, it may sound a little dull to teenage readers - it's not. Nor is it terribly exciting. However, it's a sweet, entertaining book that will more than likely make you laugh out loud. I can't say I loved The Big Game of Everything, I can say I enjoyed it.

(Readalikes: Hm, I can't really think of anything. Can you?)

Grade: B-

If this were a movie, it would be rated: PG for vague (except in the case of Jock's grandma) references to sex

To the FTC, with love: I received a finished copy of The Big Game of Everything from the generous folks at HarperTeen. Thank you!

1 comment:

  1. Readalikes: "My Funny Dad, Harry" is big on heart too about a daughter and father's love for each other and growing old. It's the book I wrote in memory of my father shortly after he died in Feb. of 2007.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin