Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:


2022 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska (1)
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (2)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa (1)
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (2)
- Massachusetts (4)
- Michigan (2)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi (1)
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (5)
- North Carolina (2)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (2)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:

Antarctica (1)
Australia (2)
Egypt (2)
England (11)
Italy (1)
Nepal (1)
Romania (1)
Scotland (3)
Sweden (1)

My Progress:


27 / 51 states. 53% done!

2022 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


18 / 50 books. 36% done!

2022 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 25 books. 76% done!

2022 Cloak and Dagger Reading Challenge

My Progress:


40 / 53 books. 75% done!

Booklist Queen's 2022 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

Aussie Author Reading Challenge 2022


1 / 24 books. 4% done!

2022 Nonfiction Reader Challenge


3 / 20 books. 15% done!

2022 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge

My Progress:


29 / 50 books. 58% done!

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

My Progress:


37 / 52 books. 71% done!

2022 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

2022 Support Book Bloggers Challenge

2022 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Wednesday, December 28, 2011

Give Jance Another Chance? Opinions, Please ...

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

When television anchorwoman Alison Reynolds is fired from her job, she's livid. Especially since her only crime is being over 40 in an industry where youthful good looks count way, way more than talent. Venting to her producer husband gets her no sympathy. In fact, it convinces her of a truth she's been shying away from for years: her marriage is over. To add insult to injury, Ali learns that her best friend from childhood has died in a mysterious car accident. Realizing how few reasons she has to stay in California, Ali heads to her hometown of Sedona, Arizona, to lick her wounds and grieve for her friend.

With nothing else to occupy her time, Ali pitches in at her parents' cafe and keeps up with the blog she's started to chronicle her journey from television news star to ... well, waitress. In the meantime, she's mulling over the details of Reenie Bernard's death. Unlike most people in town, Ali doesn't believe her friend was suicidal, even though she had reason to be. But the alternative is even more unbelievable - who would murder Reenie, a kind, altruistic mother of two young children? Ali has no idea. Not that that's going to stop her. She's spent her career asking questions, pulling answers out of reticent subjects. It's a skill that's going to come in handy as Ali launches an unofficial investigation into her friend's death. And one that will, quite likely, get her killed in the process.

Lots of people love J.A. Jance and since she's a local author who writes books set in Arizona, I thought I should give her a try. Only, I kind of wish I hadn't. It's possible Edge of Evil, the first novel in the author's Ali Reynolds series, was just the wrong book for me, but I had a hard time getting past the stereotypical characters, the predictable storyline, the unrealistic plot twists and the stale writing. All of those things turned me off of this much-lauded Arizona author. Maybe I'm being too critical (who, me?) - what do y'all think? Should I give Jance another chance? Convince me and I will. Otherwise, it ain't gonna happen.

(Readalikes: Reminded me a little of Mary Higgins Clark's books)

Grade: C-

If this were a movie, it would be rated: PG-13 for language (no F-bombs) and sexual innuendo

To the FTC, with love: Another library fine find

1 comment:

  1. Opinions on books are as varied as moods. You never know when a book rubbed you the wrong way because it was a romance when you wanted an action. Or maybe you've just read too many books lately and what you really need is a walk in the park. Or maybe the author had a really bad year.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Farm to Trouble by Amanda Flower

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Lost and Found Bookshop by Susan Wiggs



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive