Friday, July 01, 2011

Books, Reviews & Recipes, Oh My!

(Image from book's website)

When I first heard about Christy Dorrity's idea to compile a cookbook pairing mini-reviews of her favorite books with scrumptious, complementary recipes, I thought it sounded fabulous. When she mentioned using quotes from other book bloggers' reviews of the books as well, I thought it sounded even more fabulous. When she decided to use several snippets from yours truly, well, I could hardly contain myself. I found the concept so fun that I just could not wait to see how the project turned out. And, you know what? It was worth the wait because, really, the cookbook is quite fabulous.

The Book Blogger's Cookbook begins with an intro from Dorrity and a Foreword by self-publishing phenom Amanda Hocking. It goes on to showcase 20 books, most of which are YA paranormals. Several book blogger quotes are given for each novel, as well as a recipe inspired in some way by the story. Although I haven't had a chance to try any of the recipes yet, all look scrumptious and easy enough for even novice cooks. Dorrity offers a nice variety of foods to try, ranging from a refreshing fruit smoothie to a creamy, layered dip to rich, chocolatey brownies. You'll be salivating just looking at the gorgeous photos.

My only real complaint with the cookbook is that it's only available in a digital format. You may have noticed my aversion to e-books - I just don't like them! However, I did read the cookbook on my computer and, while it wasn't that bad, I really would have preferred a hardcover, spiral-bound book. That's not too much to ask for, right?

All in all, I enjoyed The Book Blogger's Cookbook, from its inception to its very sweet author to the beautiful finished product. So. Much. Fun. You should probably just zip on over to Amazon and order yourself a copy - for only $2.99, it's a total steal. It's a great resource for readers, book clubs, reviewers, etc. So, why are you still here? Click over to Amazon already!

(Readalikes: I don't know of any other reading -related cookbook. Do you?)

Grade: B

If this were a movie, it would be rated: G

To the FTC, with love: I received a digital copy of The Book Blogger's Cookbook from the very generous Christy Dorrity. Thank you!

11 comments:

  1. This is awesome! I actually have quite a few cookbooks on my iPad, and I love it. Velcro on the kitchen wall and I never have to worry about soggy pages.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I like the interesting recipe names, that are named after books.
    I'm also commenting to win a kindle.
    Jolynn_Reads@yahoo.com

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oh my gosh! I totally forgot to mention the contest. Agh. I'm on vacation and can't update my blog, so please go to www.dearestdreams.com for all the info on the contest.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Hi, I'm a new follower - I found your blog via Christy's. I was at LDStorymakers too. I really enjoy that conference. Nice to 'meet' you. Have a happy 4th.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I really love the idea of a cookbook containing recipes from other books, so this is oone I'm keeping an eye out for. Thanks for the review:)

    sarah.setar@gmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  6. Thanks for such a wonderful review Susan. I am hoping to get the cookbook in print in the future. I also love having the book in my hot little hands! Happy reading and cooking everyone.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Hi :). There is an awesome Kindle giveaway with this!

    I follow you on GFC as Kris Beauty

    Email : mybeautytags@gmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  8. Would love the chance to win!

    ashleysbookshelf at gmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  9. Please include me.

    lkish77123 at gmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  10. If I win the cookbook and not the Kindle, I'll have to download it to my Android phone, but I don't mind! It sounds like such a great cookbook!

    Thanks for the chance!
    truebookaddictATgmailDOTcom

    ReplyDelete
  11. This was such a fun idea for a book. I love the way the recipes go so well with the books.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin