Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


12 / 30 books. 40% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (2)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (2)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (10)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (4)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


24 / 50 books. 48% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


23 / 50 books. 46% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


48 / 50 books. 96% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


40 / 52 books. 77% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


27 / 40 books. 68% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


10 / 25 books. 40% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


12 / 26.2 miles. 46% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


26 / 100 books. 26% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


65 / 104 books. 63% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


44 / 52 books. 85% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


71 / 165 books. 43% done!
Tuesday, November 16, 2010

Dolls Unite Against Rogue Toy in Fun Toy Storyish Romp

(Image from Indiebound)

Long before Toy Story came along to confirm it, most kids suspected the truth: toys are alive. Sure, they put on a good act while children are in the room, but the moment their owners vacate the premises, all the Barbies, action figures, stuffed animals and green Army men wake up. They play, they fight, they flirt, they watch out for enemies (namely humans and pets), they live out their own lives. Obviously, they freeze the moment they hear danger approaching - after all, their secret must be kept at all costs. One wrong move could equal exposure, which would spell disaster for every plaything in the world. So, what happens when a rogue toy comes on the scene? Well, as Woody can tell you, it ain't always pretty.

At the Palmer house on 26 Wetherby Lane, Annabelle Doll and Tiffany Funcraft live a pretty uneventful life. Oh, they sometimes get tossed around by the girls who live there and they have to watch out for the family dog - all in all, though, it's a peaceful existence. Not that they mind an occasional adventure, of course. Still, when the girls hide themselves in Kate Palmer's backpack, they get a little more adventure than they bargained for. Navigating elementary school proves challenging, but nothing can prepare them for the kind of problems they face when they land in the wrong home. A controlling princess doll wants them off her turf, even if it means war. Her carelessness could mean the end of Annabelle, Tiffany and all of Dollkind. Do two timid dolls stand a chance against a menace like Mean Mimi? Or will they end up frozen permanently, trapped in Doll State forever?

The Meanest Doll in the World is the second entry in a fun Toy Story-ish series written by Ann M. Martin (of The Babysitter's Club fame) and Laura Godwin and illustrated by Brian Selznick (The Invention of Hugo Cabret). Although I read it at the request of my kids, I enjoyed this lighthearted romp as much as they did. At its heart, the story is about facing your fears, believing in yourself, and working together to solve problems. The lessons are hidden in an exciting, adventure-filled story which will capture their imaginations as well as their attention. Even my 12-year-old son couldn't wait to find out what happened next (although he wouldn't admit it in a million years). While it's not the most original story in the world, The Meanest Doll in the World is one of those tales that holds a timeless kind of appeal. It's a clean, enjoyable read that might even inspire kids to take better care of their toys - what more could a mom ask for?

(Readalikes: Reminded me of the Toy Story movies; The Doll People and The Runaway Dolls by Ann M. Martin and Laura Godwin are sure to be similar)

Grade: B-

If this were a movie, it would be rated: G

To the FTC, with love: I received a finished copy of The Meanest Doll in the World from the generous folks at Disney/Hyperion. Thank you!

0 bookworm(s) said...:

Post a Comment

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive