Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


12 / 30 books. 40% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (2)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (2)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (10)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (4)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


24 / 50 books. 48% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


23 / 50 books. 46% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


48 / 50 books. 96% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


40 / 52 books. 77% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


27 / 40 books. 68% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


10 / 25 books. 40% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


12 / 26.2 miles. 46% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


26 / 100 books. 26% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


65 / 104 books. 63% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


44 / 52 books. 85% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


71 / 165 books. 43% done!
Wednesday, June 23, 2010

Stepping into Virgin River Feels Like Coming Home; You'll Want to Visit Again and Again and Again ...

(Image from Barnes & Noble)
(While this review will not contain spoilers for Moonlight Road, it may inadvertently reveal plot surprises from earlier books in the series. As always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.)

Although Aidan Riordan looks like a mountain man with his scruffy red beard and sweat-stained hiking clothes, he's not the vagrant he appears to be. He is, in fact, a respected OB/GYN, fresh out of the navy. Not quite sure of his next move, Aidan's summering in quiet Virgin River - the ideal spot for hiking, biking, and doing some deep thinking about his future. Living in one of his brother's riverside cabins also means the doctor will be close at hand, just in case his very pregnant sister-in-law has any complications with the birth of her first child.

Aidan's been so burned by past romances that the last thing he's looking for is a woman. Especially not a snooty, citified, lawyerly type. But that's exactly what he finds when he's out exploring the landscape. His sudden appearance frightens Erin Foley - a hardworking tax attorney who's trying hard to enjoy the only vacation she's ever taken - so much that she ends up in the hospital. It's only fair that Aidan pay her back with a little yardwork, a little handyman help, a little adventure. She's not exactly his type and he's only showing up at her cabin (daily) to apologize for the concussion he gave her. At least that's what he's telling himself. The fact that she's beautiful, sexy, and passionate has nothing to do with it. Nothing at all.

Except that maybe it does. The more time Aidan spends with Erin, the more he craves her presence. It's not just her body that attracts him, but her compassion, her surprising vulnerability, and her fierce devotion to her family. Winning her love won't be easy, especially when Aidan's whack job of an ex-wife shows up in town. Can he convince the cautious lawyer to take a chance on him? Or will she march back to the city and bury herself in the one thing she knows will always be there for her - her work. In a place where even the most unlikely romances blossom daily, can this mismatched pair find their way to happily ever after?

Meanwhile, Luke Riordan's got some 'splainin' to do to Art, a young man with Down's Syndrome who's convinced he's found his bride. And Mel's got a secret goal that's going to bring a little turbulence into the Sheridan's rock solid marriage. Of course, we can't forget Maureen Riordan, a sainted mother who's living in sin in a fancy RV and making no apologies about it. For a tiny town in the boondocks, there's an awful lot going down in Virgin River.

Moonlight Road, the latest installment in Robyn Carr's Virgin River series, follows the same path to romance that has been carved out in earlier books. Still, Aidan's a fresh character, who's charming despite some stalkerish tendencies. Erin didn't have nearly the backbone I wanted her to have (c'mon, she could have held out a little bit longer), but she was definitely a sympathetic character who deserved good things to happen to her. Mel's problem gave the novel a lot of depth - I don't want to spoil it, so I'm just going to say that her plight touched me on a very personal level.

Like I always say, there's never really a question about how a Virgin River novel is going to end. The fun is in what happens along the way. And when it comes to a couple like Aidan Riordan and Erin Foley, well, there's never going to be a dull moment. Stepping into Virgin River always feels like coming home - with stories like these, I promise you'll be visiting again and again and again.

(Readalikes: previous titles in the Virgin River series and the Grace Valley series by Robyn Carr)

Grade: B+

If this were a movie, it would be rated: R for language and sexual content

To the FTC, with love: I received a copy of Moonlight Road from the always generous Robyn Carr. Thank you!

3 comments:

  1. YA Book Giveaway at: http://kateevangelistarandr.blogspot.com/

    ReplyDelete
  2. I loved this book. I connected with the MC--go lawyers!, with Mel's dilemma--go... that..., and just loved visiting my VR friends again. Saw some bits and peices from my own life in the book, which was mighty fun!

    The whole romance genre is full of predictable endings, but I still love it. I like the reaffirmation that HEA is possible, even with such long odds against it!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I think this was the first book I read in the Virgin River series. Then a few more out of order... Haha! I just ordered the first 7 books and read those in about three days - my poor neglected family!

    So glad I found this website. I read anything and everything too, but at the end of the day sometimes all I have energy for is something comforting and entertaining like the Virgin River series.

    Oh - and Mel's storyline had me weeping because I can also relate.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive