Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska (1)
- Arizona (4)
- Arkansas (1)
- California (11)
- Colorado (2)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware (1)
- Florida (2)
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii (2)
- Idaho (1)
- Illinois (6)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa (1)
- Kansas (1)
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (2)
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi (1)
- Missouri (1)
- Montana (3)
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (3)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (11)
- North Carolina (2)
- North Dakota (1)
- Ohio (7)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (3)
- Pennsylvania (5)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota (1)
- Tennessee (3)
- Texas (6)
- Utah (2)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (6)
- West Virginia (1)
- Wisconsin (2)
- Wyoming (2)
- *Washington, D.C. (1)

International:
Australia (3)
Canada (8)
China (2)
England (16)
France (2)
Ireland (2)
Italy (1)
Japan (1)
Norway (1)
Scotland (1)
Spain (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


51 / 51 states. 100% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


21 / 24 books. 88% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


20 / 25 books. 80% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


41 / 52 books. 79% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


47 / 52 books. 90% done!
Thursday, April 08, 2010

Timeless Historical Charges Forward A Little Too Fast

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

In a time when intelligent women are routinely burned at the stake, 14-year-old Alessandra Giliani knows exactly what she's risking to fulfill her lifelong dream. Still, she'd rather die than allow her brilliant mind to be snuffed out by the drudgeries of marriage and motherhood. She's got bigger plans. Disguising herself as a boy, Alessandra sets out for the University of Bologna. Female or not, she will gain all the education she needs to become a medico.

A Golden Web, Barbara Quick's second historical novel, follows Alessandra on her dangerous journey to become the first female anatomist. Her path is fraught with danger - any day, her family could discover she's snuck away from the convent; any moment, a discerning student could recognize her deception; any second, a jealous classmate could reveal her for the fraud she is. In the meantime, she soaks in as much learning as possible. Too late, she realizes that a certain handsome student is taking a very keen interest in her - and she wants nothing more than to reciprocate. Of all the risks she's taking, this one might be the one that undoes her completely ...

Although it's very predictable, A Golden Web moves at a fast enough clip to keep readers interested. Alessandra's a fascinating character - empathetic, admirable, and brave. Vivid period detail brings 14th Century Italy to life, taking us from the Giliani's bookmaking studio to the enlightening world of the university to the crooked alleys where women healers quietly practice their craft. Quick doesn't linger unnecessarily on the details, but keeps the story always moving forward. I, for one, would have enjoyed a slower, deeper immersion into Alessandra's rich, complex world. Since the book's intended for the fickle YA audience, it charges forward reaching its dramatic ending much too soon for my taste. Still and all, it's an engrossing look at the life of a brave - and possibly real - woman who dared to defy convention in pursuit of a dream. It's the kind of timeless story that should appeal to readers of all ages.

(Readalikes: Reminded me of Mistress of the Art of Death by Ariana Franklin)

Grade: B

If this were a movie, it would be rated: PG for sexual innuendo and gore

To the FTC, with love: I received this ARC from the generous folks at HarperTeen. Thanks!

5 comments:

  1. What an attractive cover! I love historical fiction and will add this one to my growing wishlist. Thanks for the review.

    ReplyDelete
  2. The premise of this book sounds fascinating and ah! Italy! I will keep an eye out for this one.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I was delighted to read your review of my debut YA novel, which was such a joy for me to research and write! Your followers might also enjoy reading my 2007 novel, VIVALDI'S VIRGINS, set in the orphanage in 18th century Venice where Antonio Vivaldi was resident priest and composer.

    There's more about both novels--and a tribute to YA book bloggers--at
    http://www.harpercollins.com/author/microsite/?authorid=7931

    ReplyDelete
  4. Read the story of the real girl behind the beautiful face on the cover of A GOLDEN WEB...
    http://askthewriter.blogspot.com/

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Hawthorne Legacy by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
How to Get Away with Myrtle by Elizabeth C. Bunce



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive