Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


11 / 30 books. 37% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (3)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (8)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (2)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


23 / 51 states. 45% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 50 books. 32% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


21 / 50 books. 42% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


43 / 50 books. 86% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 40 books. 63% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 25 books. 36% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


6 / 26.2 miles (second lap). 23% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


22 / 100 books. 22% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


58 / 104 books. 56% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


60 / 165 books. 36% done!
Wednesday, March 31, 2010

Mortal Instruments II Leaves Me Begging For More



(While this review will not contain spoilers for City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare, it may inadvertently ruin plot surprises from its predecessor, City of Bones. As always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.)

It wasn't all that long ago that Clary Fray lived a normal life. She spent her days painting, hanging out with her best friend, Simon, and lounging around the New York apartment she shared with her mom. She didn't believe in demons, had never heard of ShadowHunters, and didn't have impossible feelings for the incorrigible Jace Wayland. It wasn't that long ago, but it feels like forever since Clary's life plodded by so mundanely.

These days, she's accepted her role in the ShadowHunter world, even if it hasn't quite welcomed her. She doesn't blame the other demon-slayers for their reluctance - after all, her father is Valentine, the rogue ShadowHunter, whose lust for power threatens them all. He's clearly the mastermind behind the recent murders of Downworlder children, obviously behind the thefts of precious magical objects. Clary has to help Jace convince the obstinate Clave to see the truth, before it's too late for them all. As if Armageddon isn't quite enough on its own, she has to figure out how to wake her mother from a magic-induced coma. And then there's the small matter of Clary's heart - her pinings for Jace are completely wrong as are her feelings for Simon. Will the confusion never end? Will Clary ever figure out where she belongs?

City of Ashes takes everything I loved about City of Bones and cranks it up a notch. Heart-stopping action, engaging characters, deepening plotlines, romance, humor - this one's got it all. Including a cliffhanger ending. Don't read this one without having the last volume, City of Glass, in hand because, trust me, you are not going to want to stop reading this fabulous trilogy until you get to the end. Even then, you'll beg for it to go on and on and on.

(Readalikes: City of Bones and City of Glass by Cassandra Clare; Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer; a little like the Harry Potter books by J.K. Rowling)

Grade: B+

If this were a movie, it would be rated: PG for some language, sexual innuendo, and violence

To the FTC, with love: Another library fine find

4 comments:

  1. I still have these on my shelf waiting to be read. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I've had this series on my YA radar for quite some time. I have them on my Kindle and hope to read them soon. Thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I skimmed your review in case I read the first in this series, but it sounds like a page turner!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Michelle and Kay - You have to read them!

    Stephanie - Definitely page turners!

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive