Saturday, October 18, 2008

I'm An Idiot - Woo Hoo!

You know you get too many books, when you look at the titles and can't remember requesting them. Due to a little confusion on my part, I received multiple copies of 2 books I'm looking at for Elle magazine. Since I feel like such an idiot, I decided the best thing for me to do was offer the extras up to you.

Now, I have to admit that I didn't love either of these books; in fact, one of them disturbed me so much I didn't even review it here. I admit I can sometimes be prudish and judgmental, so maybe the titles are classics-in-the making. You be the judge:

I have 1 ARC of Lima Nights by Marie Arana. My review of the book is in the post before this one. I also have 2 ARCs of The Sky Below by Stacey D'Erasmo. One is the copy I read, so it is "gently used;" the other is brand, spankin' new. The new one will go to the name I draw first. Here's the blurb from the back of the book:

From a rising literary star, "in the tradition of Carol Shields and A.S. Byatt," comes this luminous story of a contemporary man's metamorphosis.

Andrea Barrett and Michael Cunningham have lauded Stacey D'Erasmo for the beauty of her language and her ability to create worlds that leave a lasting impression. In her new novel, D'Erasmo reaches back to Ovid for inspiration in a tale of how the mythic animates our everyday lives.

At thirty-seven, Gabriel Callahan works as a halfhearted obituary writer at a fading newspaper in lower Manhattan, which, since 9/11, feels like a city of the dead. This once dreamy and appealing boy has turned from a rebellious adolescent to an adult who trades in petty crime. His wealthy, older boyfriend is indulgent of him - to a point. But after a brush with his own mortality, Gabriel must flee to Mexico in order to put himself back together. By the novel's end we know all of Gabriel's rattly little secrets; but by dint of D'Erasmos' spectacular writing, we exult in the story of an imperfect man who - tested by a world that is often too much for him - rises to meet the challenge.

Both books have graphic sex scenes and language, although Arana's is less gritty. They are both well-written - I just had trouble seeing past all the doomy, gloomy, depressing elements. I know I'm not making them sound very appealing, but they probably deserve a look-see from someone who can be more objective. If that person is you, please leave a comment and I'll enter you in the drawing. Specify which book you're interested in, or indicate you'd like to be entered for both. Because this month is getting very busy on me, I'm going to make this giveaway a litte quicker than usual. I'll draw the names of 3 winners on Wednesday, the 22nd. Good luck!

9 comments:

  1. Count me in! I would be interested in either book!

    ReplyDelete
  2. You had me at "graphic sex scenes and language," but after reading your review of Lima Nights, count me out.

    Sounds like both these books could use a good drop of Tobasco sauce on the tongue (my mom's version of washing your mouth out with soap).

    ReplyDelete
  3. Would love to be entered for both books =)

    ylin.0621[at]yahoo.com

    ReplyDelete
  4. I'd love to get D'Erasmo's book.

    ReplyDelete
  5. would love either book. Just found your blog and I enjoy reading it!

    ReplyDelete
  6. The Sky Below sounds like a good read!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I'd really like to get The Sky Below. Thanks!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I've been waiting since 2005 to read Stacey D'Erasmo's new book!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Please enter me for the giveaway! Thanks.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin