Monday, January 20, 2020

Cute YA Rom-Com Upbeat and Fun

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Meet Pepper, swim team captain, chronic overachiever, and all-around perfectionist. Her family may be falling apart, but their massive fast-food chain is booming — mainly thanks to Pepper, who is barely managing to juggle real life while secretly running Big League Burger’s massive Twitter account.

Enter Jack, class clown and constant thorn in Pepper’s side. When he isn’t trying to duck out of his obscenely popular twin’s shadow, he’s busy working in his family’s deli. His relationship with the business that holds his future might be love/hate, but when Big League Burger steals his grandma’s iconic grilled cheese recipe, he’ll do whatever it takes to take them down, one tweet at a time.

All’s fair in love and cheese — that is, until Pepper and Jack’s spat turns into a viral Twitter war. Little do they know, while they’re publicly duking it out with snarky memes and retweet battles, they’re also falling for each other in real life — on an anonymous chat app Jack built.

As their relationship deepens and their online shenanigans escalate — people on the internet are shipping them?? — their battle gets more and more personal, until even these two rivals can’t ignore they were destined for the most unexpected, awkward, all-the-feels romance that neither of them expected.

From its peppy back cover plot summary to its charming cover to its totally apt title, you can tell that Tweet Cute, a debut novel by Emma Lord, is, well, cute.  It really is an adorable romance starring two likable characters who find themselves thrown together in a funny (if a little implausible) situation that gets increasingly impossible and confusing.  While there's some family drama thrown in for both Pepper and Jack to deal with, it's just enough to add substance to the story without throwing off its light, upbeat vibe.  Overall, Tweet Cute is an engrossing, entertaining rom-com that's just fun to read.  I enjoyed it.

(Readalikes:  Um, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (two F-bombs, plus milder expletives), innuendo, and depictions of/references to underage drinking and illegal drug use

To the FTC, with love:  I received an e-ARC of Tweet Cute from the generous folks at St. Martin's Press (an imprint of Macmillan) in exchange for an honest review.  Thank you!

9 comments:

  1. I inhaled this book, and smiled for at least 24 hours after reading it. Absolutely lived up to its name for me, and as you mentioned, it was cute with some substance.

    ReplyDelete
  2. OK, I'm laughing a lot here. The characters are 'Pepper' and "Jack' and their battle is about a 'cheese' recipe - does it use 'Pepper Jack' cheese? Ha! It does sound like a fun read. Bet my library has it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yep. You'll never guess what the characters' couple name is ...

      The book comes out tomorrow, so you should be able to find a copy. Enjoy!

      Delete
  3. Sometimes a little tweet cute is what we need; a break from the dark and serious reads.

    ReplyDelete
  4. This reminds me a little of one of Meg Cabot's books where the characters "met" and interacted through email. It was a cute read, too. :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. This book was really cute! I read it in a single day and thought that Pepper and Jack were great.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I adore the premise of this book and have been busting to read it -- I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I am catching up on reading blog posts and yours is the third one I have read for this book. They have all said how cute and fun this book was. I guess I need to add it to my TBR. I do like cute and fun.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin